We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza Done Right”
Review of Christian's Pizza

Christian's Pizza
Ranked #40 of 553 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Takeout
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pizza Done Right”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The pizza is always fantastic - with a terrific crust. The variety of choices is mind-boggling. I love the artichoke - my husband is a standard sausage and pizza man. Very convenient.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    84
    33
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Charlottesville?”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wow. That would be something to claim. In my opinion, Charlottesville itself falls far short of claiming to have outstanding pizza options compared to NYC or my beloved Chicago, but we do have a few really decent pizza paces and Christian's is one of those.

What makes Christian's unique is the setup. Chris designed his main store to sell pizza by the slice, quickly and efficiently, with all the variety you could possibly imagine. The formula worked when he ran the predecessor to Christian's downtown store -- still open down the street -- and it has been perfected and somewhat cloned in other locations.

I hesitate to call the product "gourmet" pizza. The crust is good, NY style thin tossed. The baking ovens yield a good pie, and are suited to reheating the slices upon selecting from pre-made pies what you'd like. The number of combinations and especially ingredients is amazing. They also serve pre-made calzones. And, you can order whole pies made to your liking. The quality of the pizza is much better than average.

Depending on timing, you may be inundated with moms and kids, and if that is a problem, carry out or go without is my advice. Sorry moms, but your broods can be annoying.

The dining area in the main store compels carry out, as during peak hours it is jammed. That is a testament to the concept, and to the quality, IMHO.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Pizza-family friendly”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently became stranded in C'ville thanks to our car breaking down. Our hotel recommended this place and it was really good pizza. There was a constant flow of people coming in and out ordering pizza and picking up ginormous boxes to go. You can order every pizza by slice, including a large assortment of gourmet pizza. Prizes per slice go up with the number of toppings on them. If everyone in your family/group wants the same type of pizza (like pepperoni) it would be a better deal to order a whole pizza than by slice.
The staff was friendly. Order at the counter, self serve drinks.
This is a kid friendly place to eat as well.
My favorite part about this little restaurant was the sign above the condiments. It warned that if they are removed from the building they will explode. Too funny.
Overall a really good little pizza place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachy2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small chain with awesome pizza”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

You can get basic slices of pizza or you can get fancy pizzas (gourmet type pizza) The kids can get basic pizza by the slice and mom can get a fancy herb veggie slice and dad can get the mega meat slice. They have it all

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A good option for a fast meal”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

They sell pizza by the slice or whole pizzas, they have a wide variety of pizza to chose from. The dining area is a little small, it may be hard to get a table during peak times like 12:00-1:00pm during the work week.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christian's Pizza also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Christian's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing