We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vivace Was A Let Down”
Review of Vivace

Vivace
Ranked #60 of 552 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Vivace Restaurant, located on Ivy Road near the University Of Virginia , opened its doors in July of 1995. Housed in the former main quarters of a peach orchard, Vivace attracts patrons with its diverse atmosphere. From the cozy intimate upstairs, which hints at the comfort and ease of Nona's home, to the vast expanse of our multi-tiered outdoor terrace, the ambiance at Vivace appeals to all. The 1940s hand-crafted serpentine bar in the lounge provides a festive setting for the light-hearted. For the romantic, enjoy a glass of wine by our inviting fireplace. From the moment you arrive, you'll discover that Vivace is full of Italian charm. Our unique decor and old family photos will transport you to a quaint Italian village, creating a welcoming atmosphere. Providing authentic entrees has been our primary goal for the past eighteen years.
statesville
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vivace Was A Let Down”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The food was marginal. I get better Italian food from Fizoli's or Olive Garden for sure. We payed about 55.00!!! We had to ask him for bread then didn't get any butter with bread. The waiter never gave us his name (till we asked) There takeout containers were made out of cardoard and absorbed the pasta sauce. Overall, not good, we won't be back

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K and Kathie Ku... k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    53
    20
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Food was very good, indeed. However, none of the cutlery matched, butter was literally frozen and could not be spread until the end of the meal. Season did not permit outside seating but inside is quite quaint and comfortable. Again, the carelessly put-together rather cheap cutlery did not match the surroundings and was a turn-off.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1kearsarge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxed but beautiful”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is just an easy, beautiful place to eat, especially out on the patio on summer evenings. But they also have an inside bar area that is wonderful for an occasional quiet drink with a friend. Oh, and the food is excellent!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Italian. Good Service”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were craving Italian and out first choice was booked due to Parent's Weekend at UVa. The wife and one of our other couple friends had been to Vivace a few times. The food was really good. I had the chicken picata. Was pleasantly surprised because many places overdo it on the lemon. This was just the right amount. The food for all four of us was great!

Our server was definitely full of energy. he was running from table to table and barely stopped long enough to take our order. We actually had to call him over a few times because when he delivered our food, water, and bread he forgot to ask if we had everything or needed anything else. The only table he paused for was when a group of about 10 girls came in.He definitely serviced them the way I wish he did for the rest of his tables. I think they were from a sorority and it was one of their 21st b-days.

Overall, food was great. Service was good but decent for what I expect from a college kid .

I would d

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomCat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruckersville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love the tomato sauce!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We ate here for our wedding night (small group) and we eat here almost every anniversary. Very romantic setting. I love their tomato sauce, so I ordered the eggplant parmesan. The plates are a good size, and I did not leave any. So good!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ereina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vivace also viewed

 

Been to Vivace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing