We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Quality”

Hamiltons' at First & Main
Reserve with OpenTable
Hamiltons' at First & Main is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Charlottesville's Downtown district, Hamiltons' is the perfect spot for a delicious afternoon lunch or a romantic evening dinner. A cheerful, cozy atmosphere and attentive service ensure our guests enjoy an outstanding dining experience, be they Charlottesville natives, out-of-town visitors, or University students and staff. We also feature outdoor patio seating seasonally, providing our guests the opportunity to dine amidst the bustle of the Downtown Mall. Our Staff Kate and Bill Hamilton opened the restaurant's doors in February 1996. Today, talented Chef de Cuisine Curtis Shaver brings a distinctive flare to the exciting, contemporary American cuisine for which Hamiltons' is known. In addition to overseeing Hamiltons' award winning wine list, General Manager and Partner Daniel Page directs a staff renowned for its congeniality and professionalism. Music at Hamiltons' Every Saturday and Wednesday night from about 7-10 p.m, Hamiltons' hosts the live jazz stylings of guitarist Peter Richardson. Peter's album with clarinetist Dave Kannensohn titled "Saturday Nights at Hamiltons'" features American and Latin jazz favorites.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistent Quality”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Hamilton's is unquestionably the most consistent fine dining experience to be found in Charlottesville. The food quality and presentation is consistently outstanding...you know that you will always get a quality, freshly prepared and presented meal. How often can you go to a restaurant and know that the meal will meet or exceed your expectations? At Hamilton's you know!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 22Zip71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    154
    44
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average at Best”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The interior of Hamilton's is very attractive - white linen, etc. My husband and I came here for dinner on our first night of our "getaway from our child even though we love him" weekend. Our server was lovely. Unfortunately the service was extremely slow and we are not sure why since the dining room was not full until almost the end of our evening.
Appetizers came out very late and it was painfully obvious that they had sat up on the line for a LONG time - salad was wilted and the calamari was almost cold. My husbands entrée of beef was very tasty, but very small in portion. My crab cakes were small, lukewarm, very pasty, and tasted like they had been mixed with a fish that was not crab. We were attempting to send certain items back, however getting the attention of anyone to handle this was difficult, so we just gave up.
Overall, very overpriced for the portion size and quality received. Maybe just a bad night, but unfortunately, we will not return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
184 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Worthy of top ratting”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

While walking Main St. on a quiet Monday night during our first night in Charlottesville we liked menu at Hamilton's and gave it a try. We were both very impressed by the presentation of our dinners and even more so by the wonderful flavors in our crab cake and pork chop meals. A variety of fresh vegetables blended well and the tiny spaetzle were delicious. The meal was accompanied by a nice bottle of a local Virginia Chardonnay which was selected to take advantage of $10 off of VA wines on Monday. White linens and outstanding service went well with a great dinner.

Outdoor seating is available and might have been a better option since the indoor seating area tended to be loud. Upon returning to our hotel we were not surprised to see Hamiltons at the top of the Trip Advisor listings for Charlottesville - it truly is worthy of a top 5 rating.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 100nations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just alright”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Service was slow, waiting awhile to get our order, and food took a long time to arrive. Food was just alright, never special. Portions are on the small side, so you may be hungry when you leave. Also was overpriced for what you get.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsburg
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had a late lunch. It was very good although limited. The service was excellent and the waitress Geraldine was one of the best we have had in a long time. Very attentive and accommodating.
The wine list was excellent as well as the cocktail menu. We would go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wildwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamiltons' at First & Main also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Hamiltons' at First & Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing