We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious lunch - eat here!”

Hamiltons' at First & Main
Reserve with OpenTable
Hamiltons' at First & Main is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of Charlottesville's Downtown district, Hamiltons' is the perfect spot for a delicious afternoon lunch or a romantic evening dinner. A cheerful, cozy atmosphere and attentive service ensure our guests enjoy an outstanding dining experience, be they Charlottesville natives, out-of-town visitors, or University students and staff. We also feature outdoor patio seating seasonally, providing our guests the opportunity to dine amidst the bustle of the Downtown Mall. Our Staff Kate and Bill Hamilton opened the restaurant's doors in February 1996. Today, talented Chef de Cuisine Curtis Shaver brings a distinctive flare to the exciting, contemporary American cuisine for which Hamiltons' is known. In addition to overseeing Hamiltons' award winning wine list, General Manager and Partner Daniel Page directs a staff renowned for its congeniality and professionalism. Music at Hamiltons' Every Saturday and Wednesday night from about 7-10 p.m, Hamiltons' hosts the live jazz stylings of guitarist Peter Richardson. Peter's album with clarinetist Dave Kannensohn titled "Saturday Nights at Hamiltons'" features American and Latin jazz favorites.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch - eat here!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Had an absolutely delicious lunch at Hamilton's. The vegetable and lentil soup was the perfect compliment for a cool winter day. My wife had the vegetable sampler, which was ton of food and all tasted great. I had the chicken spring rolls - at first i was disappointed that they were just full of roasted chicken, but after my first bite that all changed. They were amazing - some of the best i have ever had. Hamilton's will certainly be a mainstay for our next visit to Charlottesville. Can't wait to try dinner!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    152
    44
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a longtime Charlottesville favorite. I have eaten here maybe seven or eight times and have never been disappointed. The food is, I guess, modern American. Tastes good with wine -- or beer. Nicely decorated. Terrific place for a date or a business lunch. Conveniently located on the downtown mall. I particularly recommend the "blue plate vegetarian special." I am not a vegetarian. In fact, I am a confirmed carnivore. But this plate has never disappointed me. It's usually about 5 different items, including some hearty veggies with nice flavor that ensure you don't miss the roast beast.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrozetDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, service, ambiance”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I am a local and eat at Hamiltons regularly. As another reviewer noted, their crab cakes are outstanding; other entrees also are delightful. However, I have learned to be careful about what dish you order; if the combination of foods with a particular entree sounds unusual to you, you may not like it. In other words, I find some of their combinations are wonderful, and others not appealing.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nbonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern traveler
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a wonderful little restaurant on the mall. I am one to post about negative , but felt the need to comment about the food and servce at Hamiltons. It was an outstanding lunch with a relaxing feel and gracious staff. The hangar steak was fabulous and so well presented! We will certainly return when in Charlottesville! Well done!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pamatchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My Favorite in Charlottesville”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I travel to Charlottesville many times every fall and Hamilton's is a must for me for dinner or lunch. Great food and service. Their crab cakes are outstanding. Their wine list has some very affordable good wines. Shared a pumpkin creme brulee for dessert that was delicious. Food that you want to eat slowly and enjoy every bite!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachGal27949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamiltons' at First & Main also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Hamiltons' at First & Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing