We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bar scene”
Review of Miller's Downtown

Miller's Downtown
Ranked #68 of 568 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Price range: $0 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Located on the Historic Downtown Mall, Miller's Downtown resides in one of the oldest buildings on Main St. Inside, you will notice the old display shelves and prescription drawers of the 1920's pharmacy, the old tin ceiling, the dry ice freezer box once used for the ice cream at the soda shop, and the kitchen built from the alleyway behind the building. Second floor seating for a more quite experience is available. The third floor has Charlottesville's last quarter operated pool tables and a full service bar. The outside cafe seating is the largest on the downtown mall and is the perfect place for people watching and having lunch selected from our updated menu. Miller's Downtown has been serving Charlottesville for more than thirty years, we welcome all walks of life and embrace the uniqueness it provides our establishment. The diversity of musicians that have played at Miller's Downtown in the last thirty years still runs strong with Live Music seven nights a week with no cover charge ever. As our guest, we want to make sure that everything is to your satisfaction, if we miss something, please bring it to our attention, and we will surely make it right.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We just called in for a drink on a quiet Monday evening and sat at the bar. Beer was very cheap, wine reasonable and even though it was almost empty it had character. I am not sure I would eat at Miller's but as a place to have a drink, I thought it was very good.

Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottie K, Owner at Miller's Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you for leaving an honest and positive review. Our food is delicious, you don't have to worry about that! we still have great drink specials and we have great bartenders to take care of you. thank you scottie@millersdowntown.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 150 of 215 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

We returned to Millers Friday night for drinks and conversation with friends. I could not believe the skimpy drink they served me. I drink CC on the rocks and they poured exactly 1 ounce over a few ice cubes. I asked if that was the normal drink size and the waitress said yes I then asked what the drink cost and she replied $5.50 and added that a double would be $11.00 and contain 2 ounces of CC. Now this establishment has some old time saloon type charm but it certainly is not the caliber to get away with those prices. Crown Royal at Bizou down the mall came in at around 3+ ounces for around $7.00. At those prices I will not be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank JKWPittsburghPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottie K, Manager at Miller's Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

We understand your comments you've made about our alcohol amounts, we would like to let you know that all of our "shots" and drinks are meticulously priced, the amount poured is at one and a quarter ounce (more than a shot glass) and this is controlled by an outside company that has a sole purpose to align every guests portion to be exactly the same; an honest amount, at an honest price.

After reading your comment this morning, I paid for two separate pairs of our guests to enjoy drinks at the establishment down the mall. They ordered the exact same drinks as what was in your comment. When our guests returned, they had reported that they received different amounts and shockingly, at different prices - and we checked to make sure their was no drink specials currently happening (we hope we didn't get the bartender fired after notifying the owner of this malicious injustice).

We maintain that you state that you were served an overpriced, yet under poured drink, and we will have to stand on the fact that no one guest is different and our prices and amounts are aligned with the rest of the Charlottesville restaurants.

We also want our guest to be satisfied with their experience, and as you obviously were not, and we do invite you back for a third time, and we do promise to do our best to make things right, from fish to properly poured and priced drinks.

As you know, social media and reviews make that decision for that "yet to experience it myself" person and we regret your headline didn't properly read "Honest drinks at an honest price"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We sat outside so we could see the foot traffic walking by on the pedestrian mall in downtown Charlottesville. Chardonnay was good. I had fish tacos that were tasteless and disappointing. The fish was minced rather than in large pieces so it was basically lost in the taco. My husband's turkey and bacon sandwich was good. With all the restaurants in Charlottesville, this was not a good pick.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank likebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottie K, Owner at Miller's Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We are truly sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your experience at Miler's Downtown. While we are glad that you enjoyed the wine and the sandwich, we wish we had taken the opportunity to correct your fish tacos, as the fish is absolutely not supposed to be minced. Miller's has always had a reputation as a classic bar and restaurant with great live music every night. We aim to serve cold drinks and great food in a timely fashion and we are continously focusing on improving this. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to your return. Pleas stop by again for lunch, dinner or our wonderful late night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to Miller's for dinner and we were pleasantly surprised. Both our burgers were EXCELLENT! You can tell they're fresh. He enjoyed the jambalaya for his side. They have a GREAT beer selection and our server was knowledgeable about the seasonal selections.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LAP515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottie K, Owner at Miller's Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for leaving us a review, we do greatly appreciate them. We are happy that you enjoyed your burgers, they are hand crafted by our staff, while sounding artsy, it is true. We grind quality 100% black angus, certified grass fed and grain finished (that's what makes it yummy) USA beef and then weigh it out and hand patty press the ground beef into burgers every day, seasoned and seared to order - all the toppings are freshly sliced, of course the pickles are pickled - but we plan on moving up to doing that ourselves one day. We take pride in the lost art of preparation of what we call - delicious bar food - We roast our own meats, make all of our soups, sauces and dressings, including our Hammond, Louisiana families own jambalaya that your husband enjoyed. Our head bartender turned General Manger is what I call a beer snob, but he personally samples and choses every beer we offer and he knows almost everything about them - ask for him the next time you're in, he loves talking about beer. Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know what a truly great place we have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We happened to stop in around 8:00 PM on Sunday and found out about their half off specials. What a deal! The service was speedy, the drinks were cold, and we had great nachos.

Plus this place had some pretty good people watching!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DanielleDurham_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottie K, Owner at Miller's Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

You have found out about one of our best kept secrets! - how the entire country doesn't know about our great drink special is unknown to me... thank you for your time to leave a great review about our specials online (something we cannot do as proprietors here in Virginia) Keep coming back - we will not disappoint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller's Downtown also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Miller's Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing