We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great weekend with the girls!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A cozy fire will greet you during the cooler months Front entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
A cozy fire will greet you during the cooler months
Front entrance
Top of the line Bosch appliances
The railing used to be a futon frame, and yes, those are croquet balls!
A giant lantern lights the way. That's a tree we cut down and used throughout the house.
The rest of the tree was used as a railing in the loft
The hallway floor is old hickory, and that's 100 year old brick on the chimney.
We made pendants out of vintage canning jars.
King-size bed in the master bedroom.
Master bath vanity
Look what you can do with remnant tile!
Indoor porch off the master bedroom
Off the indoor porch. there's an outdoor porch.
The plaque was carved by the local tombstone company out of leftover granite.
Exterior view from the yard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Charlottesville, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lauren C
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great weekend with the girls!”
Reviewed November 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I recently came back to Charlottesville for UVA Homecomings with several of my girl friends and we rented the Recycled House for the weekend. We could not have asked for a more perfect place to stay! The house is absolutely gorgeous and the decorations are so unique. Plus, there was plenty of space between the bed, pullout couches, and sofas for all of us! The house is in a cute, safe area right off the Downtown Mall. We were almost bummed we had so many alumni activities, because we wanted to spend more time in the house! Debra was also extremely helpful, even meeting one guest at the house late at night when she had trouble getting in. The house was perfect for our weekend, and I can assure you we will be making it part of our new tradition! Thanks to Debra for everything.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heatherda...
Wilmington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great house, great location!!”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I found the recycled house while planning our annual girls trip to Charlottesville. The location cannot be beat and the house is just amazing! There were 6 of us, we slept comfortably and felt right at home. We enjoyed the cozy fireplace and with the open concept of the house we always felt like we were getting the most of our time together. I would recommend the recycled house to anyone looking for a place to stay in Charlottesville.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
31Carmel1...
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A delightful unique experience”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My husband, son, daughter, and I stayed for three nights at the Recycle House this past June. Deb greeted us and gave a tour of her unique beautiful home, With my children being older, it was nice to have the separate liviing areas where they could veg and have some privacy. The house was clean and nicely decorated. Deb was a wonderful hostess, going out of her way to make us comfortable!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ihearthis...
eastern PA
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Special place, comfortable and close to downtown Charlottesville”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay at the Recycled House this past week. Debra, the owner, made sure that we were well taken care of by first meeting us when we arrived and then letting us know she was available throughout our stay if we needed anything. The house had all the amenities you would need to be comfortable. Everything was clean and easy to find. My children loved the interior, like a tree house, with all the wood trim and the small reading nooks here and there. The house is within walking distance to the Downtown Mall which we visited whenever we were back at the house, a small market and most importantly not to far from Spudnuts! Kids love to walk places as compared to getting in a car, so we all enjoyed that. If we ever planned to come back to Charlottesville, we would definitely stay here again. I would also recommend it to my friends and family. Thank you, Debra, for such a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too much to list - but our favorites - location to Downtown and beautiful cozy interior
Liked least: the wi-fi was intermittent
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The absolute comfort of the home and its unique style.
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DC
Reviewed January 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portland
Reviewed October 24, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing