We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxation & Renewal”
other travelers have booked this property
POOL IS OPEN!!! Come swim in privacy!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
POOL IS OPEN!!! Come swim in privacy!
Light-filled room, Queen-sized bed, Fireplace                   Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth Pretty spa bathroom with antique clawfoot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
POOL IS OPEN!!! Come swim in privacy!
Light-filled room, Queen-sized bed, Fireplace                   Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
Pretty spa bathroom with antique clawfoot tub
Welcome plate and complimentary wine                          Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
Enjoy your wine near the pool                                                   Photo: Warren Salmon
Enjoy coffee on your private porch
Life is just a bowl of Breakfast Berries!                          Photo: Warren Salmon
Breakfast in your room                                                  Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
Historic Main House, built 1810-1842
The Cottage adjacent to the Main House
Enjoy a picnic lunch poolside
The Pool House in April
Lunch under the wisteria
View from the hillside
One of two bridges connecting the property's 22 acres
Room for bocce and croquet!
Or play frisbee with Joe!                                                       Photo: Warren Salmon
Your hosts, Anne, Jim and Joe                                         Photo: Warren Salmon
Bedtime treats!                                                         Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
Homemade Blondies                                                   Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Charlottesville, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barry A
Harrisburg, NC
1 review
“Relaxation & Renewal”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We celebrated a special anniversary at The Cottage and thoroughly enjoyed! It was very restful and relaxing. The accommodations were very comfortable and tasteful. Anne was an excellent hostess. We would highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: restfulness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2016
Thank you so much, Barry--you were lovely guests, and we hope you'll come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Idyllic cottage in gorgeous surroundings”
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This cottage is a real gem sets amid beautiful countryside. It is well decorated and is immaculate . The cottage has a patio with a table and chair plus two cocking chairs which is great to sit out on to have breakfast or a glass of wine thoughtfully provided by Anne the proprietor. Anne provides a good breakfast consisting of a choice of cereals,yogurt,muffins, orange juice and a big bowl of fresh fruit. Each evening she provides a little treat for sweet dreams! There is a lovely swimming pool which we managed to enjoy although the weAtherwas not always kind to us. There is nothing to complain about here everything is perfect for a quit ,relaxing holiday. The only downside was having to leave. Anne is very accommodating and doesn't have a check out time if no other guests are arriving. We stayed until 3.30pm enjoying the sun and pool. The bed in the cottage is really comfy and we slept well there. Don't miss this cottage- book it and you will be so pleased you did. Thank you Anne for spoiling us we had a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2016
Thank you so much! I very much enjoyed meeting you both and hope you will return to the U.S. Soon for another visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praline11...
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage and property; incredible hospitality”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

If you stay here you’re going to be spoiled for any other bed and breakfast. There are so many wonderful things about the cottage, where my husband and I spent a romantic weekend in August 2016. First, Anne is the consummate hostess. It was clear from the time of booking that she wanted to make sure every detail would exceed our expectations. Both my husband and I are very limited in what we like to eat, and we have almost no overlap between the two of us. As you might imagine, this makes going to a typical bed and breakfast difficult. But it was no problem with Anne—she is an absolute perfectionist when it comes to making sure guests have exactly what they like to eat—for the breakfast items, for the complimentary welcome snacks, and for the daily fresh baked goodies. For our welcome snack, I chose the cheese plate. She asks you in advance if there are any types of cheese you don’t like and then puts together a truly gourmet assortment—the type of cheeses you would find in a specialty store. She also asks about wine or beer preferences. For breakfast, she hunted down the exact type and flavor of yogurt that I wanted (which can be difficult to find), as well as baking my husband the exact type of bread that he loves. (I can’t believe he said her banana bread was as good as mine!). She asks in advance what type of milk you like for your coffee (there is a Keurig in the room with a selection of pods) and what type you want for your cereal. Her cereal assortment includes several types of regular cereal and 2 flavors of organic granola. She also asks about juice preferences. If that weren’t enough, she also gives you a large bowl with cherries and several types of fresh berries. And she makes you feel like it’s her pleasure to make you happy and comfortable. She attends to every detail—even the spoons in the drawer in the kitchen area are arranged in a pretty fan pattern. I loved the flexibility of being able to wake up and eat breakfast anytime I wanted (and while still wearing my pj’s).

The cottage itself is lovely—it’s very private because it has a separate entrance. It’s light, bright, airy, and beautifully decorated. There is a small table in the room with two chairs for eating breakfast, and a back patio with another table and chairs if you want to eat outside. Anne gives you a folder with restaurant recommendations, and she tells it like it is—both the good and the bad about local restaurants—so you know you’re getting the real story.

Anne stocks the bathroom with every toiletry you could imagine—different types of shampoos, lotions, bath salts, makeup remover, body wash. If you forgot it—don’t worry—it’s already there. Bath towels are super thick and fluffy. The grounds are gorgeous and they have a lovely pool (which we didn’t have a chance to try). Anne even mentioned there was insect repellent and lemonade in the pool house—she thinks of everything!

Definitely follow Anne’s directions rather than using your GPS or your phone’s map app. The location of the cottage was perfect for us—close enough to go to Charlottesville (25 minutes) and still go hiking on a trail off the Blue Ridge Parkway. We went to Monticello as well and used the tips Anne suggested to improve our visit.

So why didn't I give this 5 stars? Two reasons, neither of which are deal breakers. First, I really like having a full shower. The bathroom has a lovely huge bathtub with a handheld shower attachment, but no shower. This didn’t bother my husband at all, but I'm not the most coordinated person and it was difficult for me to wash my hair. Second, my husband is a very, very light sleeper and the bedroom thermostat makes a slight clicking noise as the AC cycles on and off. It didn’t bother me, but he had a hard time sleeping. I suspect there are very few people whom this would bother.

But those tiny issues aside, this is an amazing place to spend the weekend and I highly, highly recommend it. Anne is a wonderful hostess-- makes sure you have what you need down to the last detail and then gives you complete privacy. You will love the cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2016
Thank you so much, Amy--we truly appreciate your kind review and hope the inconveniences won't prevent you from enjoying another visit with us. I only wish the problems mentioned were solvable, but thermostats do emit light clicks during their cycles and there is just no room in the bath for a stand-alone shower! It was a pleasure to host you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shauna K
Virginia Beach
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Beautiful, perfect little cottage for our anniversary celebration”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The cottage is adorable, very clean, and very comfortable. Outstanding mattress and pillows! The owner, Ann, tidied up our room, made our bed, and made sure that we had clean towels each day. She filled the Brita water pitcher regularly, brought us fresh fruit, muffins, and sweet treats. The welcome package of wine and cheese was delicious, and was accompanied with long stemmed roses for our anniversary. She went out of her way in every aspect! The grounds have the most picturesque views. We enjoyed a hike to a picnic area by the stream, as well as a dip in the swimming pool. The owners, while available for anything we needed, also gave us utmost privacy. The location of the property is perfect- only a short drive to restaurants, hikes, wineries and breweries. And, a short 25 minutes to downtown Charlottlesville. It was just perfect! Can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful views and comfortable mattress- and the wine and cheese!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2016
Thank you so much, Shauna! We all look forward to your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbwm88
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a lovely weekend”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and I stayed in this charming cottage while we were visiting Charlottesville for a football weekend. Ann, the owner, could not have been more responsive and genuine in her desire to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The historic home is in beautiful condition and the property is in an idyllic location. As runners, my husband and I took advantage of the quiet, unpaved roads and enjoyed a peaceful (but hilly!) early morning jog. Ann's homemade baked goods greeted us each morning and evening. We would highly recommend this for couples looking for a quiet, romantic get-away!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2015
We hope you will come back soon to relax and play! All Best, Anne, Jim and Joe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRD126
Newark, Delaware
1 review
“Total Relaxation”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our stay at Sunnybank was incredible. Anne was the perfect host. The cottage and grounds were a perfect setting for a relaxing weekend. I spent many hours poolside just enjoying the peace and quiet. Don't miss the live music on Saturday nights at the Batesville Market. It was a blast!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2015
We were delighted you had such a good time--you really seemed to enjoy all we have to offer, from relaxing by the pool to exploring the property to checking out the local talent across the creek--it was a pleasure to have you both here--we look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellel...
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Simply serene!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I just returned from the Cottage at Sunny bank. We were there to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. No words can describe this place ... it is simply serene!!!!!!!

The cottage exudes total peace and relaxation. While reading outside you can hear the babbling of the stream. There is no t.v. to distract you.

The cottage is immaculate. The in-ground pool is wonderful. The views/grounds are beautiful!

Anne, the owner, will make your visit perfect in all aspects! Every detail of our stay was carefully considered by Anne. I thoroughly enjoyed reading her restaurant reviews in an area dining guide that she put together.

We visited Monticello (previously planned) and Ashlawn-Highland (unplanned but recommended by Anne) ... both were awesome tours. So glad for the recommendation to tour Ashlawn, it was such a quaint and intimate tour.

I hope that we are lucky enough to return to the Cottage at Sunnybank in the near future. It was simply serene!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the serenity of the entire visit!
Liked least: I loved the bathtub, my husband prefers a shower (he made do with the hand held shower head).
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2015
We are honored you chose the Cottage for your 25th anniversary, and so pleased we met all your expectations! We hope you'll return to celebrate next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing