We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wifi, Tables, Coffee, Computers, Friends”
Review of Mudhouse Coffee

Mudhouse Coffee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wifi, Tables, Coffee, Computers, Friends”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stop for coffee and a cookie, but my sense is that Downtown Mall literati write esoteric epistles, theses, love notes, doctoral dissertations, dating website profiles...over a cup of coffee. Can be hard to get a table, couch, lounge chair, but once ensconced; let the fun continue.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    19
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great study location on the downtown mall”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Good coffee and tea, and plenty of tables for studying. Can get a little noisy, but I like it. Also has free wifi and plenty of outlets. The food is also great. Also check out their Crozet location for a more remote study location.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kdb5d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful coffee shop with character”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Had great coffee and a game of chess with my husband as our after dinner treat--a very cozy, authentic coffee house

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
156 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Coffe is Great”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

WE stayed at a nearby B&B which had terrible coffee every morning, so every day we went to Mudhouse for their terrific coffee or espresso. Once we tried one of their muffins and it was excellent. Most of all, we enjoyed lingering in the laidback atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank virginia70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charlottesville's Coffee Gurus”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

These are by far the most knowledgable and talented coffee people in the whole Virginia/DC area! Amazing roasters and equally skilled baristas to boot. If you are a true lover of coffee, don't make a trip to Charlottesville without stopping there!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ENBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mudhouse Coffee also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Mudhouse Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing