We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food. Terrible service!”
Review of Cinema Taco

Cinema Taco
Ranked #319 of 553 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: South American
Restaurant details
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Decent food. Terrible service!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I rarely write bad reviews...until I went here. Absolutely awful service on a Saturday night. The food was decent so I'm not giving a terrible rating. I've waited tables before, so I understand being new or being overwhelmed and could give a pass, but neither was the case in this situation.

Due to the service alone I would not return nor suggest others to try here given the high number of restaurants in that location.

Helpful?
Thank infamouskatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good quick food option”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

For what it is, Cinema Taco is quite good. Quick food, quasi-Mexican, and a good value. Probably the best quick food option on the downtown mall.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 949ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover: dive in”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Took family for a stroll along downtown shopping area prior to a UVa basketball game. Looked for a decent lunch somewhere, and wife accidentally walked in for a 911 potty break. The exterior looks like an old art-house cinema. The interior is very elemental, no frills, like a typical art crowd hangout. Kids liked being able to make their own burritos, much like Chipotle. The best meal of the group was the SWEET POTATO BURRITO: such an unusual combo of sautéed onions, sweet potatoes, guac, black beansm whole wheat shell...it was fantastic. The 2 beers on tap went great with the food. Service was quick. Various sauces ranged from no spice to fire, yet all really enhanced the flavor. Come here to eat well, sans eye-candy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“delicioussss”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great options for vegetarians, which can be hard to find! I've been pleased with everything I've ordered there :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ganesagd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good burrito”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I thought the food was very good. I had a burrito and had no issues. I got a chicken burrito with some guacamole, which was very good and worth the extra charge. It was a little messy to eat thanks to the black bean juices, but definitely delicious and filling.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angeline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cinema Taco also viewed

 

Been to Cinema Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing