We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!!”
Review of Cook Out

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cook Out
Ranked #195 of 541 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Value!!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We ate here for lunch and while I have had better burgers, you can't beat the prices. Very good choice if you like getting a lot for your money. We paid $4.69 for a burger two sides which I got onion rings and french fries and either a drink or for $1 more can make ii a milkshake they had 40 different flavors and the Mint Oreo I got was fantastic. If you ever come across Cook Out it's worth trying if you haven't ever eaten there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JFisher312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    22
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I don't get the fuss”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I heard a lot about Cook Out from friends, so had high hopes. The service was fine and the restaurant clean. With respect to food, it struck me as an average fast food restaurant. Also, I'm a french fry fanatic and their fries did not impress me.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cook Out...Charlottesville”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Definitely a step above your normal fast food restaurant...great burgers, fries, hot dogs and a wide variety of thick milk shakes...service and wait staff very fast and friendly...great place to go prior to a UVA sporting event...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruckersville, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“BEST FOOD IN THE WORLD!!!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

You absolutely don't sacrifice quality for value at Cook Out!!!!!!!!!! I love this place! Excellent Food and a WONDERFUL price. You could go with the traditional burger and fries, or you could get something completely out of this world, like a Pecan Pie Shake. They also have some seasonal food, like fresh Pecan Pie near Christmas time and fresh watermelon in the summer time. You can actually even eat here for less than eating at McDonald's and you get way more quality and quantity of food!!!! If you've never been to a Cook Out, you absolutely HAVE TO GO!!!!!!!! This location is wonderful!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“As Usual, Scrumptious and Cheap”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Cook Out was convenient to our hotel and excellent for late-night noshing. The barbecue is very good and so is the crunchy chicken wrap. I love the fact that they sell Cheerwine, my favorite soft drink!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ConcertBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook Out also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Cook Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing