We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serene, relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Oxbow Farm

Inn at Oxbow Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Oxbow Farm
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Serene, relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I were joined by our son and his girlfriend for a weekend in Charlottesvile to visit Monticello and I'm so glad in retrospect that accommodations closer to town were all booked. Carter and Eric and the rest of the staff made sure that our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. The Inn is situated amid farm fields just a few short miles outside of Charlttesville, nestled in the folds of hills, giving the Inn a feeling of peacefulness and solitude.

We found the Inn and the rooms were attractive, clean, comfortable and inviting. Breakfasts were delicious and we especially enjoyed the wine and cheese on a weekend night; we spent a quiet evening reading, playing cards, chess and talking. Our stay at Oxbow became as much a destination worthy of our vacation time, as our trip to Monticello.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed there last Saturday night, and it was wonderful. Big rooms, comfortable bedding, spotlessly clean, very charming. Breakfast was delicious and quite impressive. We were welcomed warmly and enjoyed both our innkeepers and fellow guests. The setting is magnificent and the place is very charming, especially once they tell you the history. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had two bedrooms in a suite configuration. Perfect for our family dynamics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kipcaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had a lovely stay in Charlottesville! Oxbow is a quaint and exceptionally relaxing farm. The innkeepers were charming, very accommodating and helpful. The rooms where tastefully set up and cozy. Breakfast was fresh and hearty. The ambiance was warm and I particularly enjoyed drinking wine in the evening and coffee in the morning alfresco overlooking the valley below the inn. Since my initial visit, I have been back several times as I travel to Charlottesville for work frequently.

Room Tip: I've stayed in several rooms, and find the West Room quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amaury-Roseline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I had a wonderful time at the Oxbow Farm. The staff was very nice and told me a few events that were going on in town. The scenery is beautiful and I was able to relax easily. It was clean and tastefully decorated, but not too formal. The breakfast was delicious. I will definitely be coming back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Yet only a short drive to the heart of Charlottesville! The inn was in a beautiful, rural setting, very peaceful and quiet.

The youthful innkeepers were very accommodating and gave us good recommendations for dining and getting to know the area, while at the same time being respectful of our time and privacy (not overbearing).

The rooms were more spacious than many B&Bs we've stayed in.

It felt like a real home, not overdone or twee.

All in all, a lovely base for our three days in C'ville.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizpagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I just have to say that I really loved Janna and Eric. They made us feel at home. If you travel with children this is a wonderful location. The innkeepers took our daughter to see the kittens, and watch for the foxes out in the pasture in the early evening. They have done a great deal of renovation in this old home and are excited about the future plans. The décor is clean and simple without clutter. It was a nice debriefing from my normally saturated life. It was a bit of a drive, but really one of our daughters favorite stops on a long cross country trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here over my birthday weekend last fall and were anticipating a nice getaway in VA wine country. It was a holiday weekend and all other B&B's that we checked were booked so we decided to take a chance and book without seeing a proper review - and we really paid the price. The innkeeper was lovely in our communication prior to the trip, but she was out of town the weekend of our stay. We arrived and were immediately disappointed after seeing a shabby home at a bottom of a hill, stray cats on the lawn, and an unlocked front door with no one in sight on the property. Prior to this we mistakenly went to the home at the top of the hill, which was in much nicer condition, thinking that this was the B&B we had seen advertised online. We were honestly terrified and didn't have the heart to get out of our reservation so we decided to bite the bullet. The highlight of our stay was the "Whole Foods" breakfast that was promised and continuously mentioned as a selling point, which ultimately consisted of rice krispies and cinnamon rolls. Not a bad breakfast by any means but certainly not the organic feast we anticipated. To be honest it was ok in terms of cleanliness, but 100% not worth what we spent for one night of uncomfortable sleep. Save your money and stay closer to downtown!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cwinston8384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxbowInn, Owner at Inn at Oxbow Farm, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
The two gentlemen in question booked the reservation for September 2012. They then asked if they could arrive prior to our published check in hours (4-7 pm). Our innkeeper told them that that would be fine, but that they would have to give us a time because she (and our other employees) are in and out occasionally during the day. The agreed to 3pm, and then showed up an hour an a half early during a time when our employee on duty was in town picking up groceries. They continued to stay, never voiced a single complaint to the two employees who were working during their two-day stay, and then proceeded to send an email the following week requesting a full refund for vague reasons none of which were never raised with any of the employees on duty and implying that they would leave a bad review if one was not given. We refused.

Regarding breakfast, until January 2013 we offered (and advertised) a continental breakfast, but now offer a hot breakfast. Until that time, we never served "rice crispies", but rather puchased pasteries from the Albemarle Baking Company. Regarding "stray cats", it is a farm and the cat is a domestic cat and does not go into the Inn out of concern for the guest allergies. Regarding a "shabby" house, the photographs on the website speak for themselves.

Other than these two particular gentlemen, we have never received a single request for a refund from well over 200 guests since reopening in August 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
4.6 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
10.8 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
4.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.8 mi away
Foxfield Inn
Foxfield Inn
#2 of 16 in Charlottesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
7.3 mi away
Inn at Monticello
Inn at Monticello
#3 of 16 in Charlottesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Oxbow Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Oxbow Farm

Property: Inn at Oxbow Farm
Address: 1475 Old Ballard Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22901-9469
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by towering oaks and rolling hay fields, the Inn at Oxbow Farm sits at the crest of the Ivy Creek rise. A short four miles west of Charlottesville, Oxbow enjoys long views of Monticello to the East and the Blue Ridge to the West. On a quiet country road, Oxbow is located within ten minutes of downtown Charlottesville, Thomas Jefferson's Monticello, Ashlawn-Highland, the University of Virginia, and a dozen Virginia Wineries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing