We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
very good wine

If you are looking for a fancy tasting room and great views then this is not the place for you. If... read more

Reviewed September 19, 2018
peytonstorm
,
Richmond, Rhode Island
Fun tasting

We stopped here after two other wineries. The tasting room was simple, but it was nice. I have... read more

Reviewed August 13, 2018
dinahy
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Read all 34 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Charlottesville
from $309.00
More Info
from $59.00
More Info
from $79.00
More Info
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
10
17
3
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
17
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews michael shaps cabernet franc petit verdot tasting room bare bones white wine different wines growler winemaker refill winery wineries virginia
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 34 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2018

If you are looking for a fancy tasting room and great views then this is not the place for you. If you want very good red dry wine, then you will be very happy you stopped in. Jim greeted us when we came in and was very knowledgeable. He explained that the winemaker worked with a lot of other wineries in the area and that he was the winemaker for Pippen Hill (which we loved) and the Barns in Northern Virginia. We took Jim's advice and visited The Barns and loved their wines also! All the wines we tried were very good. Our favorites were the Petit Verdot and the Cabernet Franc. We bought a bottle of both. This rating is more like a 4 1/2 star.

Thank peytonstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

Wine Works has two locations. One on Harris Creek Way and one on Avon Street Extended. We stopped at the Avon Street location last month. Unlike prior visits, we were very disappointed this time. The hostess was "phoning it in." She was not friendly and it seemed like any request was "too much effort." We were there to refill our growler and they had some different wines available this time. We asked to sample the new wines and she "sighed" and made a big deal about giving us samples. We selected a Rose for the refill and were very disappointed with the quality of the wine. We have found better Roses at our local grocery store. Unlike our prior experiences (where the wine was wonderful and the service was excellent), this visit was a dud. We won't be hurrying back.

Thank virginian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

We stopped here after two other wineries. The tasting room was simple, but it was nice. I have been to many tasting rooms and they are all different. They do not all need to be fancy if the wines are good. We enjoyed some of the wines. I bought a bottle. Our pourer was very nice and chatted with us.

Thank dinahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

We had mixed feelings about the rural Tasting Room. We expected more ambiance from Mr Shaps. It was dark, and depressing. Having said that, the wines were nice. There is a Va. Tasting menu and a French menu. We liked the Pinot Noir Bourgogne (15), the (15) Cab Franc and the (13) L Scott blend. We purchased 2 bottles and were on our way. Not a venue where we would share a bottle soaking up the memories made on a Wine Quest.

Thank mhensleyowb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017

After a taste of his Viognier at the Salamander Resort in Middleburg, VA, I wanted to visit his winery. We enjoyed the tasting and speaking with his daughter. We appreciated the restaurant suggestions too. We will be back and are debating joining the wine club.

Thank HyMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

Small rustic winery off the beaten path. Other reviewers are right - the wine is expensive. We bought a couple bottles of their white wine, but didn't get any red because we didn't think it was worth the price. The other couple on our visit purchased a case, so obviously tastes and values differ with individuals. The best part of the visit was their dog. He was an absolute love!!!

Thank HootieToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017

Stopped at Michael Shaps Wine Works Extended (on Avon Street in Charlottesville) on 9/1/17 and 9/3/17. This location is in addition to the more "rustic" tasting room on Harris Creek Way. Very convenient location just off I-64. This location is never crowded. We refilled our growler (first trip with Gamay and the second trip with Macon Villages). Both are good everyday wines. They have other wines to taste and some lite fare. Highly recommend a visit! Nice outdoor deck!

Thank virginian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

I'll say it up front - we did not enjoy this tasting. Though it is a working vineyard, the tasting room was rather unwelcoming. It felt like an impersonal afterthought and the man handling our tasting was pretty impersonal uppity too. Perhaps the attitude works in Burgundy, but this is Charlottesville, VA. Rule #1 is know your audience.

Nonetheless, we purchased one bottle, which is still sitting on the rack at home.

We will not be returning.

1  Thank JNetteDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2017 via mobile

Michael Shaps 2014 was the Virginia white wine we served at our wedding in 2015. Loved this tasting because the staff was very knowledgeable and personable. We were able to taste wines from Michael Shaps French vineyards. The only French wines we tasted on our trip and the only tasting we were able to sit down. Love his Cabernet Franc.

1  Thank Sprout211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017

We stopped at Michael Shaps WineWorks (extended on Avon Street) on 5/28. There are two locations. The one on Harris Creek Road and the "new" one on Avon Street. We really enjoy their unique and different wines. Tasting room is small, but well done with tables and couches for enjoying a glass of wine. They had a "crowd" of 9 when we visited. The best part about Michael Shaps is their frequent growler program. You purchase and bring back a growler (like with beer) and bring it back and have four or five choices to get it refilled. This time we chose Macon Villages. A great French white. Cost $30 for a growler refill which equates to about 2.5 bottles. Can't beat the price. Atmosphere is intimate and quiet. Service is outstanding and the wine is GREAT! Give them a try either at the winery on Harris Creek Road (we've been there too) or the "extended" tasting room. You won't regret it!

Thank virginian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews