We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the place to go for special order cakes”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Paradox Pastry

Paradox Pastry
Ranked #5 of 12 Bakeries in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great pastries in the morning, fabulous cakes & pies in the evening and salads/sandwiches/soups in between. Lots of space to sit & converse. Open late in the evenings on the weekends. Convenient to the pedestrian mall.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not the place to go for special order cakes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I contacted the bakery to place an order for a cake. I did this through their website and didn't hear anything after 2 days, so I called the bakery. I was told, "oh, she'll get back to you, don't worry." 10 days later and I've yet to hear a peep. There are too many incredible bakeries in Charlottesville to waste time on one who obviously doesn't care to have my business. I have ordered Paradox cakes before simply for the artistry, but taste is rather disappointing. I ended up ordering from another local cake artist. Simple process, and I felt like they appreciated my business! In the end, I won't even attempt to order anything else from Paradox. Customer service should be paramount in any business, and it's definitely lacking there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CvilleFoodie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sinfully awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Authentic, delicious and unlike any other pastry in town! The owner Jenny said she has two cooking degrees from Paris including the Cordon Bleu! You have to try the delicious, delicate flavors here!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dparkinves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service, Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Visited Paradox on a trip to visit our daughter. The three of us ended up here by accident, and was it a lucky accident! Aside from the wonderfully delicious smells (it IS a bakery, after all), we had the lentil soup (outstanding), a turkey/apple/brie sandwich on croissant (wonderful, and a fresh but crisp-crusted croissant -- say that 10 times fast), and the quiche "du jour" (which was excellent). Then we had the chocolate-chocolate-chocolate cookie (forget what it's called, but it was perfect) and great coffee. The service people were very nice, and we also had a nice chat with Jenny, who is the/a owner and very nice. If I lived near Paradox I'd visit more often!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank diant53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Amazing selection, beautiful cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have had several things from Paradox, from the simple (croissants and cookies) to the looking simple but obviously not (almond pave). They were all excellent but I have to say the almond pave may have been the best cake I have ever tasted. My husband who does not like cake loved it as well. While we were in the shop we had the privilege to see them in the process of decorating a wedding cake. Gorgeous. This is definitely where I will come for any cake I need decorated.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chloesmomNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
299 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Perfect if you like a choice of 2,000+ calorie desserts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

If, on the other hand, you'd love something simpler, less harmful to your heart, it might be wise to rethink coming here. Yes, everything looks over the top; yes, everything has enough cholesterol for you to check with your medical insurance before you decide on what to eat; yes, there are oversized photos of Paris on the walls. All in all, there are fewer real choices than C'ville's other fine bakery all at about 33% more in cost. If it's a Saturday morning, one might be more satisfied walking through the farmers' market: there are more options, and one gets to see C'ville.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradox Pastry also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Paradox Pastry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing