We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit off the beaten path”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Charlottesville KOA
Greenville
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A bit off the beaten path”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very clean showers. Wifi was so-so in our kabin. Pool is hidden, for sure. Nice folks who run the place. Our kabin was clean and quite sufficient. Overall, the campsite is very clean and well maintained. Lots of trees to shade RV sites, kabins & primitive campsites.

Room Tip: We liked Kabin K2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cogman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    11
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our trip to visit Monticello. It wasn't a bad place and the staff was very nice. It wasn't however great, the site we stayed in was nice it was a pull thru and it was also shaded. The bath house was clean. The pool seemed to be "hidden" we walked all around the site and had to ask another couple camping where it was. There was a sign near the office saying pool this way but again it wasn't near the office and way back in the woods (hidden ?) I attempted to walk the trail with my dogs and it was overgrown, it was marked but as soon as I could get off (behind some campers) I left the trail not completing the full distance. (( watch out for ticks !!! We found 3 )). Finally the wifi was very poor. Nice place for a nights stay but perhaps not much longer than that.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Candi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I put over 9,000 miles on my motorhome since December of 2012 and this, by far, has been my favorite campground of all that I have stayed in along the way. The owners are super warm, kind, helpful, real, down to earth, genuine, and friendly. The prices are reasonable and the campground is small, quiet, and friendly with charming amenities such as a pool tucked back by the woods, a trail that passes a beaver pond (where you can fish), basketball, volleyball, and tetherball. They have a nice game room and the laundry facilities are clean and reasonable and the machines work well. The bathrooms and shower facilities are exceptionally clean and nice with plenty of hot water. I fell in love with the abundance of freshly blooming dogwoods and red buds. The campground is nestled in a rural area of Charlottesville with gently rolling hills and a nice, quaint lil' county store on site. Sites are level. Sprint cell phone service worked perfectly and never had a problem getting a WiFi connection. My grandkids love this campground and can't wait to come again. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring. This is definitely one of my top three favorite campgrounds of all time. I especially love the way the owners are careful to make sure you have a site you are happy with and is perfect for your rig... they really go beyond the extra mile to make sure your stay is enjoyable, comfortable, and memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wanderwoman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you are staying in a RV or tent then this ultra clean campground is for you ! This is our second time visiting Charlottesville KOA and here is a review of our last visit. We arrived on a Wednesday afternoon and check in was quick and effortless. With a map of the campground we were given directions to our site #54 (full hookups (W,S, 50A Elec & cable) & pull through site). Our host also told us how to log onto the wireless internet, it worked perfectly every time we logged on and speeds were great even when the campground was mostly occupied. All utilities worked perfectly as well, we saw staff cleaning up and blowing leaves during our stay and the bathrooms were also spotless. This is a great place to stay when visiting Charlottesville and the surrounding area. Monticello and the downtown area are a 10 mile drive, also make sure to check out some of the local micro breweries like Devils Backbone, Blue Mountain and Starr Hill. All but Starr Hill have a great lunch to offer along with some of the best beer you will find. If visiting in the month of October take a 45 min ride north and go to Liberty Mills Corn maze, go at 6 PM and bring a flashlight.
We did have to leave a day early because of hurricane Sandy and the effects it would have on our home state of New Jersey. After driving for a couple of hours we received a call from the campground asking if we did leave a day early and we were told that we would receive a credit back for the night we did not stay. Something like this has never happened to us before, that is amazing customer service. There is no question on where we will stay when visiting Charlottesville and will look at staying at KOA's in our travels. Thanks to all the great staff at the Charlottesville Campground. Some other notes: Since we have a 34' motorhome and tow a car If visiting again we would stay in our site #54 again along with #16 and #47. Cell service was great with AT&T. There is a trail that surrounds 3/4 of the campground where you can take your dogs for a nice walk.

Room Tip: We stayed on our motorhome !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bug512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I arrived late at this KOA and after checking in left to grab a bite to eat. Upon returning, we realized there was a smell in the room that was overwhelming. It smelled as if the cabin had recently been stained. We opened a window and hoped for the best. By 1 a.m., we couldn't stand it any longer. We opened the door to see if that would help ventilate the room. Though it did help, we didn't feel safe sleeping with the door open. We eventually had to retreat to our car. In the midst of tossing and turning, sitting on the porch for relief, and crawling into the car I made a trip to the restroom to take a hot shower to help relieve a tremendous headache from the smell. Apparently, somewhere along the (very dark) way, I got into poison ivy. I am still slathering on Caladryl and taking hot showers to get relief from the head to toe itching. I literally have a poison ivy outbreak from head to toe. We talked to the nice young lady in the office the next morning. She told us we could have called the number on the outside of the building to request another cabin. Lesson learned. However, she did call us after we left to tell us the smell was due to the pine used in building the cabin (3 years prior). We have stayed in several KOA's over the years and have never experienced such a smell.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marknrhonda75455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
9.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
907 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
249 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,742 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
930 reviews
3.1 mi away
Albemarle Estate at Trump Winery
Albemarle Estate at Trump Winery
#7 of 16 in Charlottesville
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlottesville KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlottesville KOA

Property: Charlottesville KOA
Address: 3825 Red Hill Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22903-7926
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Charlottesvill...
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come camping at our natural, wooded campground located in central Virginia. Our Campground is surrounded by a rich heritage of history, culture, and scenic beauty - an area in which it is easy to see the past come to life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing