We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great burgers! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Citizen Burger Bar

Citizen Burger Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Location just opened in June 2012
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great burgers! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Great place for happy hour type of atmosphere. Had the citizen burger, cooked to perfection. The fries were a little soggy but not bad. The fried pickle was not my fav but others in my group enjoyed it. Enjoy!

Helpful?
1 Thank 01kitty01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    273
    61
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not your average burger - by a long shot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had lunch at CBB on a weekday afternoon and it was delicious. They have great options for locally sourced items for those interested in that. Our group had the shisito pepper appetizer, which was very different and delicious, and some cheese fries which were spot on. Our burgers were excellent as well. Only two drawbacks: First, the onion rings were excessively battered and greasy. Secondly, this is not your average burger and these are not your average burger prices. We had 4 adults and 4 kids, getting 3 appetizers, 4 regular burgers (8 oz.), 4 mini burgers (4 oz.), 2 beers, 1 milk, 2 sodas, 1 iced tea and 2 waters. Our bill, including a 20% gratuity automatically added for our party of 8, was $178 for lunch. Was it good? Absolutely. Will we return? Not often!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACRMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
390 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Cool venue, tasty food ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were waking the pedestrian mall in Charlottesville for the first time and we happened upon Citizen's Burger Bar. It looked like a cool spot and although the outside seating had a 45 minute wait, we were seated inside immediately. We opted for the mini-burgers (1/4lb angus beef). I had sweet potato fries (big yum), my wife had regular fries. The fries come in a metal container which keeps them warm (very smart idea). The burger was really tasty.

My only beefs (sorry for the pun) was that it took a while to get our food, and it's on the noisy side (brick walls, old wood floors, high ceiling) so conversation can be a little tougher. Would we go back? You bet.

Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dynamic meal and busy atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

The venue, the courteous service, the menu. We walked in and although there was a 40 min wait for a table, they seated us in an aisle seat, which is ideal if there's only tow of you not having a huge meal. Traffic bustling around us but nothing imposing and there was plenty of room for the staff and customers to get by. the place really was busy (dinner time) and there were families there. The food...wow! I usually don't eat burgers unless they're gourmet but this was a basic burger with grilled onions on the top. the meat and toppings were so tasty, ketchup WAS NOT needed! highly recommend this place to try. You will not be disappointed!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ganz877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
215 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Really Good Burgers, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

The restaurant is in a pedestrian area of downtown Charlottesville that is really cool. The burgers were really good, with local ingredients a priority and lots of unique toppings to put on them such as lobster foie gras, and fried eggs as well as the usual toppings you would expect. There was a large beer selection on tap as well. The service was polite and cheerful and good too. A great place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joefromcincy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citizen Burger Bar also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Citizen Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing