We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Burger in a long time....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citizen Burger Bar

Citizen Burger Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Location just opened in June 2012
Philipsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Best Burger in a long time....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The staff was very good. Our drinks were never empty and our waitress was very helpful. The burgers were very good, cooked perfectly. Great selection of toppings for the burgers. It is a little more expensive but worth the money for a burger. It was a little loud, but we were there during happy hour on a Friday. Overall a great experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    266
    59
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Inconsistent kitchen with variable food quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have eaten at Citizen 5-6 times and it is hit or miss. Sometimes wonderful burgers and great appetisers, sometimes, like today, over cooked meat and dry horrible brittle oil bath leftovers instead of fries. Good staff though so next time we'll demand ahead of time what we expect!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dantrolene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you are in Charlottesville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

eat at Citizen Burger. The burgers are cooked to perfection and the sauce is a perfect compliment. The onion rings are top shelf and the lobster melt is beyond good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank love2travel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to get an organic local burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant uses only local grass fed beef for their burger. I never had a grass fed burger before and was expecting it to taste bland compared to a corn fed cow. This burger was excellent. It was juicy and full of taste. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a good burger.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

great location, great little patio, great service. If you like burgers you'll love this place. So many options.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuzyS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citizen Burger Bar also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Citizen Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing