We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never, ever again”
Review of Citizen Burger Bar

Citizen Burger Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Location just opened in June 2012
VA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“never, ever again”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

1st time, relatively new, an hour for a burger- ok

next time monday night, needed a quiet booth, not a soul in the restaurant, my son has diabetes and we needed some privacy so we could test him.............. no- they made us sit outside. i got a burger the size of a 1/2 dollar and found staff to be surly and not very empathetic. NEVER, ever again

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coanetinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    288
    62
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Burgers Beer and Multi TVs!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Busy night following big event put a little kink in the selections but when the beer and food arrived, it was a great experience. Burgers perfectly cooked (plus loved the vegan option). Great service with good advice from the waiter for a lighter beer "with some depth". Multiple TVs with several baseball playoff & football games easily visible and a great atmosphere made for great viewing plus great conversation with my dining family. Definitely go back and I would recommend for all ages!

Helpful?
Thank Dmlynch0531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
200 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“terrific burgers, great atmosphere, yummy beers!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

What more could you want?! sweet potato fries, funky burgers, great beer and wine selection--all my favorite things!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harleechik70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great potential”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I'm frustrated by CBB's potential: they do some things very, very well and simply whiff on others. The burgers are awesome, some of the best I've had. But the buns are very average. The French fries great, the portion skimpy. The sweet potato fries amazing, but the last time they were out of them. Service has improved since they opened.

I'm give it another try because they have the potential to be outstanding if they improve some of the fine points.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great atmosphere and bartenders”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Very surprised and happy to see a vegan burger option! It was flavorful and the texture was wonderful. The cocktail list is inventive and the craft beer options are varied. The bartenders, even on a busy Sunday were attentive and helpful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citizen Burger Bar also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Citizen Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing