We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem”
Review of Splendora's

Splendora's
Ranked #3 of 27 Dessert in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Description: http://www.splendoras.com/
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.splendoras.com/
VA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“a gem”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

it's great, a wonderful owner, pleasant staff & a good product. space is real nice, urban, but soft. a great treat.........

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coanetinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    35
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Worth going out of the way”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had heard of Splendora's when we were in the Charlottesville area a few months ago but did not have time to go there. I love gelato so when we went to Charlottesville last weekend I insisted that we go there after dinner, even though it was very cold and windy and a long walk from the restaurant. My husband and daughter thought it was ridiculous, but it was worth it to me because the two flavors of gelato that I had--chocolate hazelnut and hazelnut chocolate (those might not have been the "formal" names, but one tasted like dark chocolate with chips and the other tasted like Nutella)--were delicious. Besides gelato they have interesting hot drinks and some baked goods and candies. The interior is bright and colorful with plenty of seating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freedshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Just have to stop by for a taste!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

They always have new great flavors and you can sample before you buy. A nice little dessert while you enjoy the downtown mall....we stop everytime we are downtown!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great gelato and coffee place on the pedestrian mall”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The gelato here is as good as it gets. They offer as many tastings as one likes. The staff is friendly and helpful, service quick and cheerful. Eat in or take out and stroll the mall.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Very nice gelato”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Terrific flavors, very creative. Best ones are usually the most Italian of them: nuts, fruits and chocolates. But some of the more American ones are OK too like the salted caramel and the oreo cookie (which my son likes). Perfect for a hot day!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wombat1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splendora's also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Splendora's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing