We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn Monticello
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$124
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$143
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$174
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The English Inn of Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$129
$113
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$325
$294
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$119
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oakhurst Inn(Charlottesville)
$194
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$143
$134
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (550)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveler rating
221
177
89
43
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
177
89
43
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanoutdoor poolbagelscontinental breakfastthe breakfast areamartha jeffersonstay there againfront desk staffchecking inconvenient locationair conditionershort drivecookiesmonticellointerstatemotelinns
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
324 - 329 of 550 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went to see Monticello, and realized belatedly it was move-in weekend at UVA, so we grabbed this off Hotels.Com as one of the few left that were available. The beds were comfortable enough and we enjoyed the pool a great deal after a hot day traipsing around Monticello. The breakfast was very good, and the staff was very welcoming and gave us good directions on how to get to the pedestrian mall in Charlottesville. There was no highway noise despite the proximity to the highway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb_from_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The location is not bad if you are planning on driving everywhere, as it is located just off the highway, but there is absolutely nothing within walking distance.
On arriving, we had the urge to just turn around and head elsewhere, but we were meeting friends here, so decided to stay. The hotel is located well back from the road, behind a vacant lot. When you start heading up the laneway to the hotel, you may think you have made a mistake, but unfortunately you have not.
The building itself is dated, and badly in need of refurbishing. Inside, the hallways are dark and dingy - and the smell is downright nasty. The rooms themselves are clean and average in appearance. There is some construction type equipment in the parking lot, so maybe some improvements will be happening soon.
The staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast choices were limited but sufficient to start your day. The rates are somewhat cheaper than other local hotels, so if price is an issue, this might be your best option.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank wally434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a place I've stayed in a lot over the past four or five years due to having kids and a granddaughter in the nearby Belmont section of town and most other decent places being booked due to weekend events at UVA. It's definitely dated and the hallways often have a odor probably from decades of various cleaning fluids. However, the rooms are invariably clean and comfortable. This trip I had a king bed on the upper floor overlooking the pool. The staff made sure I was ok with this as there is not elevator access but I assured them I could handle the stairs. The staff here have always been very nice and helpful. This bed was extremely comfortable and sleeping was great. The breakfast here is standard Comfort Inn fare. Nothing spectacular. I'm trying to eat healthy and stuck to orange juice, some low-fat yogurt and apples. The apples were a bit mealy but edible. They have the usual range of sausage patties, hard and pressed eggs, make your own waffles, toast, cereal, and those strange small doughnuts and bagels that must be shipped in from some central bakery somewhere. It always amazes me that hotels don't try to get more local items in to these breakfasts but that is really a general comment and not a knock on this place in particular although the rates here might justify an extra effort. If your only purpose in being in town is to visit Monticello this is definitely the place to be. A quick one exit trip on the immediately accessible expressway takes you off where you make a left for a short drive to Monticello and a right and you are in Charlottesville itself. Both places are charming and worth the time to visit. Plans are underway for four new hotels in this area which is currently underserved. Once those are running that may be pressure on for a few upgrades to make this location on the hill in Shadwell even better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverrun343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Honestly we were shopping by price when we found this hotel, but it is so nice a place that they could certainly charge more. (Don't tell them). Right off the highway, it is very convenient to everything in this college town. And nestled halfway up a hill means they have great sunsets and there is little or no road noise--so you can oversleep if you want.

I think this hotel (like so many around the US) has been here a while and has recently been updated. The rooms are larger and comfortable, the bathroom is all new--tile, mirrors, plumbing, and fixtures. (Note to Indian Hotel Owners: If you are spending this kind of money updating bathrooms, you might consider removing the old tub and installing a nice shower).

Good outdoor pool, special breakfast served until 10 and tastefully decorated public areas. Plus really high speed wifi. All this and a low price, I wish there were more of this exact hotel around the country.

Room Tip: no elevator, and stairs even to the first floor mean you will haul your baggage
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglewoodDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were there for a week and found it to be one of the best that we have stayed in. The king size bed was the best. All the staff were very friendly and always there if we needed anything.The hotel was very clean and had a nice pool area where you could go and sit or have a cook out I do a lot of nights away from home and everyone here made my stay very pleasant. I will tell all my friends about this hotel if they ever need one in the area, It is very close to everything in Charlottesville and right off the interstate on a hill away from the busy areas.

Room Tip: Very quiet area and great beds to sleep in. Like sleeping on clouds.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews