We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drive on by”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monticello
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Drive on by”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The location is not bad if you are planning on driving everywhere, as it is located just off the highway, but there is absolutely nothing within walking distance.
On arriving, we had the urge to just turn around and head elsewhere, but we were meeting friends here, so decided to stay. The hotel is located well back from the road, behind a vacant lot. When you start heading up the laneway to the hotel, you may think you have made a mistake, but unfortunately you have not.
The building itself is dated, and badly in need of refurbishing. Inside, the hallways are dark and dingy - and the smell is downright nasty. The rooms themselves are clean and average in appearance. There is some construction type equipment in the parking lot, so maybe some improvements will be happening soon.
The staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast choices were limited but sufficient to start your day. The rates are somewhat cheaper than other local hotels, so if price is an issue, this might be your best option.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wally434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    174
    82
    40
    15
See reviews for
183
169
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Latham, New York
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a place I've stayed in a lot over the past four or five years due to having kids and a granddaughter in the nearby Belmont section of town and most other decent places being booked due to weekend events at UVA. It's definitely dated and the hallways often have a odor probably from decades of various cleaning fluids. However, the rooms are invariably clean and comfortable. This trip I had a king bed on the upper floor overlooking the pool. The staff made sure I was ok with this as there is not elevator access but I assured them I could handle the stairs. The staff here have always been very nice and helpful. This bed was extremely comfortable and sleeping was great. The breakfast here is standard Comfort Inn fare. Nothing spectacular. I'm trying to eat healthy and stuck to orange juice, some low-fat yogurt and apples. The apples were a bit mealy but edible. They have the usual range of sausage patties, hard and pressed eggs, make your own waffles, toast, cereal, and those strange small doughnuts and bagels that must be shipped in from some central bakery somewhere. It always amazes me that hotels don't try to get more local items in to these breakfasts but that is really a general comment and not a knock on this place in particular although the rates here might justify an extra effort. If your only purpose in being in town is to visit Monticello this is definitely the place to be. A quick one exit trip on the immediately accessible expressway takes you off where you make a left for a short drive to Monticello and a right and you are in Charlottesville itself. Both places are charming and worth the time to visit. Plans are underway for four new hotels in this area which is currently underserved. Once those are running that may be pressure on for a few upgrades to make this location on the hill in Shadwell even better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverrun343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLEWOOD
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Honestly we were shopping by price when we found this hotel, but it is so nice a place that they could certainly charge more. (Don't tell them). Right off the highway, it is very convenient to everything in this college town. And nestled halfway up a hill means they have great sunsets and there is little or no road noise--so you can oversleep if you want.

I think this hotel (like so many around the US) has been here a while and has recently been updated. The rooms are larger and comfortable, the bathroom is all new--tile, mirrors, plumbing, and fixtures. (Note to Indian Hotel Owners: If you are spending this kind of money updating bathrooms, you might consider removing the old tub and installing a nice shower).

Good outdoor pool, special breakfast served until 10 and tastefully decorated public areas. Plus really high speed wifi. All this and a low price, I wish there were more of this exact hotel around the country.

Room Tip: no elevator, and stairs even to the first floor mean you will haul your baggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglewoodDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were there for a week and found it to be one of the best that we have stayed in. The king size bed was the best. All the staff were very friendly and always there if we needed anything.The hotel was very clean and had a nice pool area where you could go and sit or have a cook out I do a lot of nights away from home and everyone here made my stay very pleasant. I will tell all my friends about this hotel if they ever need one in the area, It is very close to everything in Charlottesville and right off the interstate on a hill away from the busy areas.

Room Tip: Very quiet area and great beds to sleep in. Like sleeping on clouds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel served our purpose for our family to visit Monticello. Rooms were clean, the beds were reasonable, and the breakfast was OK. The swimming pool was functional, but it was cracked and old. The layout and decor of the hotel were terrible. The architect/interior designer needs to have their head examined. But I'm not living there, so it was tolerable for a couple of days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimRuss75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Okay, so I read a lot of reviews before going ahead with the reservation. Ultimately, it was the location and the timing of our stay that led me to book this place. Yes, the location is not right next to anything but you can drive in minutes to anything you want. I found it to be quiet, despite the proximity to the interstate. The pool was in great condition, staff was friendly, breakfast was fine, room was obviously recently renovated and bathroom reflected the upgrades, beds were really comfortable. BUT, there was such a smell/damp feeling in the room that affected anything. Not being the complaining types, we never said anything. My suspicion is a very outdated AC unit that is not doing its job to remove moisture from the air. I mean, we felt mildewy just being in there. i don't think it was just our room because the halls had that same smell about them. In any case, we had a busy schedule and only had to deal with it for two nights but I don't think I could have stayed a third. Everything else about the place was fine but something like room smell/air quality does make an impression.

Room Tip: I think we were in 103. We were near pool, exercise room and very close to back parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pa
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Upon arriving the most friendly staff with info on area and help! She explained all the fun events going on that evening in the area as well as what there was in our children’s age group. I didn’t even have to ask! The rooms were newly renovated or appeared to be. I loved the tile in the bathroom. The maid did one of the best cleaning jobs I’ve seen in a hotel in a long time. The beds were made to perfection and she even made a sea shells pattern from towels we only saw at a hotel in Maine! Breakfast was quite crowded but good – the usual breakfast from comfort inns, eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, fruit, yogurt and so on. The pool was a large outdoor pool. We also liked that this hotel was fairly private set aside in a wooded area on a hill next to the highway. Yet stores and restaurants were a few minutes down the road. Since we have family we visit in the area we plan to use this hotel on future visits.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deebug2470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
930 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
249 reviews
4.4 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
201 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
396 reviews
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monticello

Property: Comfort Inn Monticello
Address: 2097 Inn Dr, Route 250 East at Interstate Highway 64, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#12 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monticello 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hilltop yet convenient to I64. Exit 124 off I64. All rooms are non smoking. Interior property. We have 2 queen beds,1 King and 1 queen rooms available on both floors, all rooms have refrigerators- 1st and 2nd floor ( Stair access only). Complimentary breakfast is served between 7am-10am. We offer a hot breakfast - Eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, bagels, white and wheat breads, doughnuts, mini muffins, yogurts, fruit, cereals, juices, coffee and tea. We offer meeting and banquet facilities with catering for all occasions. We have an outdoor pool - seasonal openings. Laundry facility on property. We are centrally located to most all Charlottesville attractions. Monticello 6 miles, Michie's Tavern 5 miles, Ashlwan 8 miles, downtown 4 miles, University of Virginia and Martha Jefferson Hospital 2 miles,UVA Hospital 7 miles, John Paul Jones Arena 6 miles. We are close to many vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Monticello Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing