We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No elevator , dated but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monticello
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No elevator , dated but clean”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The room was very clean, nice counters in the bathroom for all of our stuff. Breakfast and coffee very good for the basic fare offered. . Although they have inside doors and corridors , there is no elevator to the 2nd floor. Be warned. If you have lots of luggage, ask for a downstairs room. We did not know that, Location was close to Monticello other sights to see and the day manager very familar with tourist sights..

Room Tip: remember there is NO elevator!! Request a downstairs room. if you have heavy luggage to lug.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    170
    77
    39
    13
See reviews for
177
165
26
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel, located on the top of a hill, looks a bit dated from the outside, but the rooms and the lobby have clearly been renovated. Check-in was quick and friendly, and the free cookies are nice. There are no elevators in the halls, but that’s okay. The halls are a bit hot near the vending room, but other than that, the halls and the common areas are cool and air-conditioned.

As previously mentioned, the rooms are excellent. The beds have soft, high-quality bedding, and the 42" LCD was a nice surprise. The bathrooms have all-new fixtures, but there were conspicuous smudges on the mirrors and door. Our room had a fridge, but no microwave.

Breakfast was forgettable. I wish there were more fresh, healthy options. Also, the only part of the hotel that shows wear are the breakfast room tables and chairs - they're sticky from the waffle syrup, and they have numerous dents and stains. It wasn't pleasant. I'd certainly return, though. The rooms are nice and the price is good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johann8431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The check in was easy and staff was very pleasant. The rooms were little bare, and though it was nonsmoking there was smoke smell... I have asthma and know when am arnd cigg smoke. Though it was all clean an bedding was fresh. The bathrooms were updated and the pool was heated. The breakfast was fresh and hearty. Nothing fancy but ok for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zuvlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

DON'T STAY FOR BREAKFAST!

Cold eggs, cold meat, (and I mean nearly frozen in the center). One wafflemaker not working. Huge lines. My family couldn't even eat there. It was inedible. Wh bother serving a breakfast (or just make it coffee and pastries) if this is what you're going to do? The rest of the experience was your typical comfort Inn. Average only, but that's what you're paying for. Clean, though, and friendly staff. But would not stay again. You can do much better for almost the same money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

After reading previous reviews we were worried. But the hotel was great for our needs- clean, friendly and totally adequate.
A short drive into Charlottesville.
Outdoor pool with towel service.
We recommend the Blue Moon Diner which is about a ten minute drive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snosrapsiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Friendly staff, nice new beds and bathroom renovations, but lobby and hallways were yucky! NO AC in those areas. This was an older hotel with only two floors and no elevator, so climbing steps with luggage is not for some folks. Breakfast had old fruit. The staff was helpful when a hotel of Boy Scouts were excessively loud and rowdy in and outside of the hotel. I guess the price made it a bargain??

Room Tip: Ask about renovations
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Festival G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The staff was wonderful!!!!! Convenient location to I64 and to Martha Jefferson Hospital. Rooms were clean and all of our needs were met. Several places to eat nearby including Applebee's and a great pizza place. I would consider stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boneefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
4.4 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monticello

Property: Comfort Inn Monticello
Address: 2097 Inn Dr, Route 250 East at Interstate Highway 64 (Exit 124), Charlottesville, VA 22911-3616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#12 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monticello 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hilltop yet convenient to I64. Exit 124 off I64. All rooms are non smoking. Interior property. We have 2 queen beds,1 King and 1 queen rooms available on both floors, all rooms have refrigerators- 1st and 2nd floor ( Stair access only). Complimentary breakfast is served between 7am-10am. We offer a hot breakfast - Eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, bagels, white and wheat breads, doughnuts, mini muffins, yogurts, fruit, cereals, juices, coffee and tea. We offer meeting and banquet facilities with catering for all occasions. We have an outdoor pool - seasonal openings. Laundry facility on property. We are centrally located to most all Charlottesville attractions. Monticello 6 miles, Michie's Tavern 5 miles, Ashlwan 8 miles, downtown 4 miles, University of Virginia and Martha Jefferson Hospital 2 miles,UVA Hospital 7 miles, John Paul Jones Arena 6 miles. We are close to many vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Monticello Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing