We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monticello
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Oakton
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We planned a group event in Charlottesville and were extremely fortunate to select this hotel for our stay. They gave us a great rate for the night, it was the best location for our sightseeing trips to Monticello and Ash Lawn. But the very best was the wonderful service we received from Hetal and all the staff at this hotel. Hetal gave us her personal service in selecting good restaurants and extras to make our stay very special. I would highly recommend this location for anyone planning a visit to Charlottesville. It is located very close to the main highways, which makes it very easy to go downtown, but also avoid the congestion when you want to be closer to the main attractions in the area.

Room Tip: We had a room by the back of hotel and that worked out very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    174
    82
    40
    15
See reviews for
183
169
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here after trip to Monticello. Inn has been renovated Bathroom was clean with new fixtures and ceramic tile room was clean and breakfast was good ae well. Would stay there again
Front desk was very helpful and polite location is great for area attachtions.

Room Tip: Great lemonade at check in as well as hot cookies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here on a little get away for three days. We love coming to this area and this motel was a great place to stay. The staff was exceptional and the motel was very clean. We did stay on the first floor which was good because there is no elevator, so I can understand some of the previous reviews. But there was no renovation working going on and our room was clean and fresh. The breakfast was typical motel fair. Not outstanding but satisfying. As long as my wife has her waffles and yogurt she is happy which makes me happy. Yes we would and probably will stay here again on our next visit. It would be nice to have a little microwave also, but hey there are worse things in life. All in all I would recommend this motel to anyone whether they are just passing thru and need a nice place to stay or coming to the area for a few days. Thanks to all of the staff who made our trip enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point, NC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here while visiting Monticello on 4/19/2013. This hotel is located fairly close to Monticello and it has a few good restaurants fairly close by. The people at check in we're helpful, nice and efficient. The rooms however we're a different story. On going up to the 2nd floor, you enter thru a glass door on the parking lot side of the building (no covering and it was raining but that really wasn't a big deal). When you enter the stairwell, your met by smokey, musty smell and it gets worse as you open the door to the main hallway. The room itself had the same musty smell which probably came from the fact there was no working ventilation in the bathroom. As far as the room itself, it was fairly average with a comfortable bed and everything was clean. The heat / air unit was somewhat loud but otherwise was fine. The main gripe with this property was the pricing - for two people with a king size bed, they charged 169.00 which was twice the price I paid in Martinsville for a much nicer and more updated room. I would suggest staying at a different property since they seem to have better pricing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights for business. The hotel is apparently undergoing renovations. The lobby and breakfast area is nice and appears to be recently renovated. My room was on the second floor. I had to go through the lobby, OUTSIDE, back inside, up the stairs (no elevator) and down the dingy hallway.

The room looks like it is partly renovated. The bathroom and entry area looks newly tiled. The bathroom was cheaply renovated. The old light fixtures were removed, no holes were patched, screw still in ceiling, and painted over. The rest of the room was really worn and tired. The carpet was dirty, comforter had a hole, and bed was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

In our party: mom & 3 sons (17, 15, 9)

Kind of hard to write this review because I'm still not sure how I feel about it. The location is fine but the entrance to the hotel is not very nice, with an empty parking area in front of it. A nasty looking old truck was parked in the lot & everyone in the car was quiet as we made our approach; I think we were all having our doubts about this place. Luckily it really wasn't too bad at the hotel.

We stayed on the 2nd floor because the entire first floor was closed for renovations. I'm pretty sure the 2nd floor had already been renovated but, honestly, I'm not positive. The bathroom sink looks great. But the tub was kind of stained & wasn't new. If it had been renovated, the workmanship is quite shoddy ... holes cut into walls were too big for the pipes/fixtures, bathroom tiles weren't applied properly. The beds were squeaky & shaky (but not too uncomfortable) so couldn't possibly have been new. The major complaint is the heating system...daggone NOISY! Most hotels' heating/cooling units are anything but quiet, but this was like a truck was starting up right outside our window. All night long - quiet down, rev up loudly for several minutes, then quiet down, & on & on.

Breakfast was good, with hot, make-your-own waffles, fruits, muffins, etc. The woman working the breakfast area was kind of frazzled, tho, & they ran out of sausage & egg while we were at b'fast. Plenty of seating.

There was an outdoor pool that looked like it might be nice (couldn't tell for sure in 40 degree weather!). The strange thing is that we had to walk outside to get to the lobby/front desk/breakfast area. It was unpleasant in the cold. I'm not sure if this will be any different once the 1st-floor reno is done or not.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivegottafly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Close to Monticello. ~ 3 blocks from convenience facilities. Hotel is undergoing complete renovation, Winter/Spring 2013. Two stories. Free 'hot' breakfast. Onsite Management and service is great. Our student group was primary occupant. Made the best of renovation hardship.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahagemyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
930 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
249 reviews
4.4 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
201 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
396 reviews
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monticello

Property: Comfort Inn Monticello
Address: 2097 Inn Dr, Route 250 East at Interstate Highway 64, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#12 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monticello 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hilltop yet convenient to I64. Exit 124 off I64. All rooms are non smoking. Interior property. We have 2 queen beds,1 King and 1 queen rooms available on both floors, all rooms have refrigerators- 1st and 2nd floor ( Stair access only). Complimentary breakfast is served between 7am-10am. We offer a hot breakfast - Eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, bagels, white and wheat breads, doughnuts, mini muffins, yogurts, fruit, cereals, juices, coffee and tea. We offer meeting and banquet facilities with catering for all occasions. We have an outdoor pool - seasonal openings. Laundry facility on property. We are centrally located to most all Charlottesville attractions. Monticello 6 miles, Michie's Tavern 5 miles, Ashlwan 8 miles, downtown 4 miles, University of Virginia and Martha Jefferson Hospital 2 miles,UVA Hospital 7 miles, John Paul Jones Arena 6 miles. We are close to many vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Monticello Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing