We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mildew and mould”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monticello
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

booked 2 night stay, room 116 ~ decor is tired with evidence of mildew / mould on walls and ceiling and strong smell of mildew in room
on advising reception staff i was initially told they would get back to me in a few minutes re another room
waited 10 minutes no offer forthcoming
unfortunately town is busy so have to spend 1st night here, managed to rearrange for 2nd night

on a more positive note ~ bed linen & bathroom were clean; staff friendly & helpful on my arrival, great corporate rates offered

i have spent the past 2 months travelling around the USA staying in a wide variety of motels / hotels ~ a cheaper rate should not mean sub standard accommodation that is potentially hazardous to health

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunny_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 543 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

I simply don't understand all the good reviews on TA about this hotel. Our experience was so different from most reviews. This hotel is old and pretty run down. Our room was dank and musty smelling, and the carpet felt damp and had ripples in it. The bathroom door made a loud popping sound when we opened or closed it. The breakfast was very average - waffles, yogurt, eggs, sausage, cereal. We were booked for 3 nights, but hightailed it to Doubletree after one night, and for $20 a night more had an immensely better experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saustin111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a very clean comfortable, comfort inn with a friendly , helpful staff. I would stay here again. This Hotel is located near monticello. We arrived before check inn and the staff allowed us to store our bags in their office, so we could tour. We were so happy with the nice room and pool. we had the pool to ourselves. Free Breakfast in the morning was good and makes this place even a better value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbtraveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I had selected Comfort Inn Monticello on the web for our honeymoon trip to Charlottesville. I couldn't have chosen a better hotel to stay in! Comfort Inn was right beside Interstate 64 (which you could not hear) and right off Rt. 250 (stationed up a hill) which lead into Charlottesville. Very convenient!! Monticello, Michie's Tavern, Ash-Lawn Highland's, and Carter Mountain Orchard's was the next exit from the hotel, plenty of places to eat along with grocery stores nearby. Comfort Inn Monticello's rooms were very clean, plenty of towels (we had the whirlpool room), quiet, and a fabulous free breakfast which offered everything you could want! The staff were professional, helpful and courteous, as was the manager. We had a wonderful 3 night stay at Comfort Inn Monticello and would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosebudd357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel due to a relative's hospitalization at the nearby Martha Jefferson hospital. We booked at very short notice, and got a good rate through the AAA, which was the same as the hospital's special rate. We had a comfortable, king-sized bed, and a refrigerator in the room, which was nice; we had to bring our own pack-n-play for our toddler to sleep in, since the hotel's portable cribs were all in use, but considering how last minute our stay was, we weren't expecting anything to be available.
The complimentary breakfast was quite good, and we really enjoyed the chance to de-stress and recover from the hospital experience in the outdoor pool. In fact, the surroundings were pleasant enough that we had hoped to extend our stay by one more night. Unfortunately the room that we were staying in was due to be occupied by a group associated with a wedding, and we would have had to move to an upstairs room, which just wasn't going to be that easy to do because the hotel did not have an elevator. We also stayed here back in February, and had a similarly good stay, but obviously, the outdoor pool was not part of the program then.

Room Tip: Remember to request a ground floor room if you have a lot of luggage--there's apparently no elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank williamsburgfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night. The room was very clean, the staff friendly, and the breakfast well organized and stocked. I would recommend this hotel for those staying in Charlottesville. The hotel doesn't have any special perks. It's a basic hotel that is well maintained. For the price, it was a good value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanyaop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here two nights and found it very comfortable. The room was spacious for the four of us, with two queen beds. The breakfast was good, with a very large dining room. It's an easy drive to everything in the area. Staff were friendly, and they were conscientious about keeping things stocked at breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
264 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
409 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
288 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monticello

Address: 2097 Inn Dr, Route 250 East at Interstate Highway 64, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#8 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $86 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monticello 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hilltop yet convenient to I64. Exit 124 off I64. All rooms are non smoking. Interior property. We have 2 queen beds,1 King and 1 queen rooms available on both floors, all rooms have refrigerators- 1st and 2nd floor ( Stair access only). Complimentary breakfast is served between 7am-10am. We offer a hot breakfast - Eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, bagels, white and wheat breads, doughnuts, mini muffins, yogurts, fruit, cereals, juices, coffee and tea. We offer meeting and banquet facilities with catering for all occasions. We have an outdoor pool - seasonal openings. Laundry facility on property. We are centrally located to most all Charlottesville attractions. Monticello 6 miles, Michie's Tavern 5 miles, Ashlwan 8 miles, downtown 4 miles, University of Virginia and Martha Jefferson Hospital 2 miles,UVA Hospital 7 miles, John Paul Jones Arena 6 miles. We are close to many vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monticello Hotel Charlottesville
Monticello Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing