We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Whiskey Jar

The Whiskey Jar
Ranked #50 of 540 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: American, Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New restaurant serving nouveau Southern American cuisine and specialiizing in whiskeys at their bar.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Visiting Charlottesville with some friends. Stopped by here on two consecutive days and had excellent service each time. Sat at the bar both days. Bartenders were extremely knowledgable about the Scotch and Whiskey selection that is on hand.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    99
    25
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great, basic Southern food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Somehow I was expecting more from this restaurant, given the local competition in downtown Charlottesville, and other great reviews. I was disappointed because there were few choices on the menu, and none of them healthy and/or low-fat. Almost everything was fried, bar-b-que/hamburger or had eggs. They have one vegetarian choice, but if you don't like hummus, you're out of luck. While I like comfort food from time to time, I'd like to have at least one selection that is not fried, greasy or eggy. I guess they are going for traditional local Southern food, but I don't get the feeling that they are trying to add anything new or innovative to make it special. So, while it's not bad, there is nothing here to impress, basic bar/lunch atmosphere, basic Southern food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elimar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good southern comfort food & great drinks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We took our daughter here, who was visiting us and we all loved it! This is the 4th time that I've been here and it gets better and better each time! Everything that we had was wonderful! As appetizers we had the shrimp and grits and the pork belly with a cranberry chutney. Man, were they good! Our daughter had the quail and my husband had the pork chop. They both loved their meals and I tasted them so I can attest to them both being very tasty! I had the "Pick 3" and had 2 ham biscuits and some campfire beans....very yummy! My daughter had a side of collard greens which she remarked were the best that she'd ever had. The drinks were wonderful and our server, Drew, was excellent and lots of fun! I've always liked this place but now I've fallen inlove with this place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex122794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great find for whiskey lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband loves bourbon and the bar at this place caught his eye through the window as we walked by. They have it all. Also, for non-bourbon officianado's, they've got wine, beer and a killer moonshine punch. We had the fried chicken (okay) and collards (awesome) and really enjoyed the peanut-and-pickle plates which arrived before the meal!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank heathery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hearty and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I have eaten here once, and we're looking forward to our next visit. We started out at the bar inside, waiting until our table was ready outside. He tried one of the long list of whiskey options (I'm not going to try to pronounce it - bunny-something :) ) . I had the fried chicken over cooked greens and he had the chicken pot pie. They were both really good. The fried chicken was crispy and peppery, just the way I like it, and the greens were delicious. I love the atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matincville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whiskey Jar also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to The Whiskey Jar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing