We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected from a Trump property”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Trump Winery

Trump Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Featuring over 1,300 acres of breathtaking scenery, Trump Winery is situated in the heart of the Monticello Wine Trail. Just a few miles from Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello, Trump Winery follows Jefferson’s footsteps in making new world wines inspired by the French wine regions of Bordeaux and Champagne. With a deep sense of place, Trump Winery ties together terroir and innovation, boasting nearly 200 acres of vines, large lakes, and rolling Blue Ridge views. We know that any visit to Trump Winery will be a treasured experience.
1 review
“Not what I expected from a Trump property”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our visit was before Christmas and we specifically chose to stop in Charlottesville to visit this winery and others. We are frequent guests at other Trump properties around the country, and sadly the staff did not live up to Trump standards. Beautiful location, excellent wines, yummy food, but we felt rushed thru our tasting, no recommendations offered by staff to encourage us to purchase wine and no one seemed to know where we could buy their wine in our area of Virginia. We purchased the CRU and Rose. Buy the wine, skip the winery!

Helpful?
Thank FancyNancy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    150
    67
    26
    29
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
258 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Luxurious but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stopped here after hearing good things about the winery from another establishment. The place wreaks of high class but isn't snobby as you might expect from a name like Trump. The staff was friendly and informative which is always nice. The price of the tasting was $8 which is a bit steep, though you do get to keep your glass. The sparkling wines were pretty good and we bought the Rose. All the other wines didn't do anything for me (partly due to the price) but that's not to say they weren't good. It was nice to visit this place once.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bcasacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Won over especially by their sparkling wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I recently visited for the first time over a weekend in Charlottesville. I'll confess to being initially skeptical, since management transitions can be challenging for any endeavor - even in the hands of someone as extraordinarily skilled and visionary as Mr. Trump - and perhaps moreso when dealing with delicately balanced traditions such as winemaking. However, skeptical doesn't mean unwilling to try something new, and we were very well impressed. The place itself is beautiful, and the tasting room's classic architecture honors the land and heritage of the area. The staff were unfailingly welcoming, attentive, and engaging about their wines. For a very modest price, we tasted several delightful examples. We were most impressed with the whites but especially with the sparkling wines. The current sparkling rose is a complex, sophisticated, delicious gem. Sometime we'll have to go back to give the reds their fair share of attention. I suspect they would fare better with a little more time to breathe and the right food pairing, and we unfortunately weren't at liberty to stay longer and enjoy a little food from their chef. I look forward to returning.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try the Sparkling Rose”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Nice location, just around the corner from Blenheim. The views while standing in the tasting room weren't stellar, but nice. They were quite busy, but it was a Saturday. We enjoyed the tasting, again my favorite was the Sparkling Rose.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meredith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect atmosphere, excellent hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I had visited Kluge several times over the past few years and were quite disappointed when it was closed last year. Eric Trump, and his staff, have completed a wonderful restoration. Very relaxing atmosphere, excellent wines complimented by great food, and a courteous, helpful staff. We will be back again next year to spend an enjoyable afternoon..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John5125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trump Winery also viewed

 

Been to Trump Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing