We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicous food , friendly staff”
Review of Sultan Kebab - MOVED

Sultan Kebab
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We liked this place. See write up in C'ville newspaper: Turkish delight --- 29 North just past the intersection of Rio Road is an unlikely location for Charlottesville’s first Turkish restaurant, but Sultan Kebab—opened in part by former GM at The Clifton Inn, Deniz Dikmen—has been serving up authentic dishes like lahmacun (that’s a crispy Turkish pizza covered with ground beef, vegetables, and spices), hummus casserole, dolma, kofte, and kebabs (from adana to doner) from that very spot for three weeks now. It’s open every day for dine-in or carry-out from 11am to 9pm and serves homemade Turkish baklava and that addictively strong Turkish coffee or tea for those wanting an after-dinner pick-me-up. Sounds like a meal fit for a sultan.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“delicous food , friendly staff”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I have been there with my girlfriend first time and i was well impressed by friendly staff , quality service , yummy Turkish food , suitable price .and .definitely going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alexx2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    57
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic and fresh”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

I stumbled upon this little gem while I was in Charlottesville on business. I couldn't have been happier with my meal! I had the lamb and chicken kabob. It was tender and seasoned perfectly. The hummus was some of the best I've had. Everything is so fresh. I will definitely be back on my monthly visits to Charlottesville. The beer and wine list is nice in that they have a few local wines to choose from too..nice way to unwind after work. Thank yku, Sultans!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank keekib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quite Good”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Only one visit, but we plan to go back again. Meat dishes, rice, and hummus were excellent. Be sure to try the Sucuk (Sujuk) beef sausage! Platters include an outstanding chopped salad. This place is the real deal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larenim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto, MI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Turkish Food”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Good place for an authentic Turkish dinner. The kebabs are great! We started off eating outside but a storm rolled in so we moved inside for dessert. They serve some of the best Baklava I've ever had. The owners were kind enough to let us wait out the storm (lots of rain and wind) inside their restaurant, during which we had a conversation with one owner. They had moved to the US from Turkey in the recent years and opened Sultan Kebab as there was previously no Turkish restaurant in Charlottesville. Overall, we had a very good meal and would recommend Sultan Kebab to others.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amsteketee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Va
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Continue to impress! ”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit. And again they served us an authentic and delicious meal. We love the hummus casserole. The

Helpful?
1 Thank André X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sultan Kebab also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing