We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turkish Delight”
Review of Sultan Kebab - MOVED

Sultan Kebab
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We liked this place. See write up in C'ville newspaper: Turkish delight --- 29 North just past the intersection of Rio Road is an unlikely location for Charlottesville’s first Turkish restaurant, but Sultan Kebab—opened in part by former GM at The Clifton Inn, Deniz Dikmen—has been serving up authentic dishes like lahmacun (that’s a crispy Turkish pizza covered with ground beef, vegetables, and spices), hummus casserole, dolma, kofte, and kebabs (from adana to doner) from that very spot for three weeks now. It’s open every day for dine-in or carry-out from 11am to 9pm and serves homemade Turkish baklava and that addictively strong Turkish coffee or tea for those wanting an after-dinner pick-me-up. Sounds like a meal fit for a sultan.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Turkish Delight”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We went to Sultan Kabob for lunch and enjoyed it very much. The red lentil soup was excellent. We enjoyed pita sandwiches; I had the ground beef kabob and my husband the marinated beef/lamb kabob. Both were served with bean salad and a type of red Tabouli. The Turkish tea was good, too. The only disappointment was the rice pudding dessert.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    57
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Virginia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Delicious, inexpensive, and GET THE HUMMUS CASSAROLE!!!! Soooooooooooo good!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

So happy we found Sultan Kebab! The food was delicious - the hummus CASSAROLE is a yummy hot bubbly dish with hummus and hot cheese - really tasty! We had kebabs which were tasty too. The baklava dessert is fresh and not to be missed! Small place, not fancy decor, but really good!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimkokomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“Fresh. Tasty. Great prices. Excellent service.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I'm so excited about this find. You can't beat the prices and the food is delicious. The owners run the place, cook the food and service it all with calmness and a smile. Everything was wonderful. I'll be back often and will probably sneak in a little take out once in a while too!! Have the Hummus casserole...seriously! I also had the lamb shish kebab sandwich and apple tea...YUMMY!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodloverlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quick service”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Easy and quick, adna kebab platter was really good, so was the chicken. The lamb was a little dry, but overall good experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zuvlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Turkish Delight”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We found this ethnic restaurant on tripadvisor and was not disappointed. It was a small restaurant with seating for maybe 20 people. We had no problem getting a table. The staff was very attentive and took our order straight away. We started with baba ganush which was served with slices of bread and we mopped up every bit of it. Delicious. Both my husband and I had the lamb kebab platter. It came over rice with a tasty salad and most delicious hummus. We just about licked the plates clean. We shared a dessert of homemade bakalava which I wish had just a little more honey on it. When your not from the area it's always nice to find a restaurant that turns out to be a winner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sultan Kebab also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing