We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Charlottesville
from $309.00
More Info
from $59.00
More Info
from $79.00
More Info
from $59.00
More Info
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveler rating
160
127
47
9
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
160
127
47
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting room wine tasting vin blanc nice tasting different wines tasting experience great wine tasting fee outdoor patio nice vineyard cheese and crackers buy a bottle wine trail adirondack chairs nice stop staff was very friendly beautiful location
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

This was our second visit to Jefferson Vineyards. We had a great time again. It was a busy day, but we got right up to the bar. Michael our pourer was a hoot! The wines were delicious! Can’t wait to visit on a warm sunny day so we can enjoy the patio.

Thank KimiLu59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Last stop on the wine tour was Jefferson Vineyards. Nice size tasting room and a beautiful patio area to sit and enjoy a full glass or bottle of wine. Our guide through our tasting Paul was excellent. Explained each wine with detail and offered other types in the same type of wine. Most of the tasting was very good but did not totally enjoy one or two of the selections. Go to Jefferson and enjoy a tasting, then get a full glass of your favorite and enjoy it on the lawn enjoying the view (maybe not in winter).

Thank caneguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila W, Owner at Jefferson Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. In winter we have a second tasting room has been refitted this year. It's a cozy space that will get a fireplace in a few months. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

I've frequented Jefferson Vineyards for over 10 years and their wines are remarkably fine. The setting is beautiful and the atmosphere is relaxing and unpretentious. One of, if not the best wineries in central Virginia.

1  Thank PhilipG1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila W, Owner at Jefferson Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Thank you so much for your words of kindness. We will share them with our team. We hope to see you during the next 10 years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018

On a rainy day it was still attracting visitors. A good recommendation.... slightly distracted server at the tasting having to double at the cash register. May have been due to weather, short staffed??

Thank genebilbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila W, Owner at Jefferson Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2018

We appreciate your feedback and visit. We may have been short staffed during mid week. Some times many customers arrive all at once. We are working on a longer term plan to address this. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

We had a little vacation to our son moving weekend
I really enjoy this winery, I cloud not bring any home but I bought one for a friend of ours

Thank Olga V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila W, Owner at Jefferson Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

We're delighted you shared your time with us. Thank you. We hope to welcome you again soon. Depending on what state you live, we do ship wines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

Didn't buy anything, but enjoyed the visit and the wine !! We arrived here on a wine tour. They are the only way to go !!

Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila W, Owner at Jefferson Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Thanks for your visit and feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

I’ve always really enjoyed Jefferson’s wines so I recommended it to my adult family members coming in town for some winery hopping.

I was immediately off put by the young man who led our tasting. He asked where we were from and what our plans were for the weekend. When we told him we were visiting wineries in an effort to uplift other wineries in the region, he made us feel like his opinion was that we had wasted our time coming to Jefferson and should be at one of the much nicer wineries which he proceeded to describe at length.

When he got to our tasting I was almost shocked by how little I liked any of the wine. Nothing was offensive, it was all drinkable, but when your server says this was designed to be a sangria, that sounds much more like an insult than appealing.

Previous vintages of Jefferson’s wines, particularly the viognier, have been leaps and bounds better than what I had that day. This was also alluded to by our server who told us they were withholding the better wine and would re-release it after competition season at a “confident price point.”

The grounds are well landscaped and have a great patio. Hopefully next year’s wines will treat them better.

Thank CaptPatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila W, Owner at Jefferson Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry to hear about your experience with us and have spoken to our Tasting Room Manager about this encounter. Our understanding was that you were looking to taste sweeter wines. Since we only offer one semi-sweet wine, we recommended other wineries that would cater more to your taste. In trying to find something right for you, we did offer you to taste 4 or 5 wines free of charge. We do feel confident our current Viognier is as good, or better, than year's past. 2017 was an amazing year to grow grapes in Virginia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018

Basically every wine at this winery is delicious! The property is gorgeous as well. This place is so loved, it has two tasting rooms!

Thank kwcincyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila W, Owner at Jefferson Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thank you for your kind words regarding our wines and property. We do put a lot of love into making our products and keeping our grounds in beautiful shape. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

We stopped in over the weekend and did a tasting. The man who did our tasting was fun and very knowledgeable of the wines and wine-making process. The wines were good qualify and we purchased several bottles that we were able to enjoy outside. Great atmosphere and friendly staff. This was one of our favorite vineyards during our visit to Charlottesville

Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila W, Owner at Jefferson Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

We're delighted to read you enjoyed our wines and your stay with us. Thank you for leaving feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

Stopped in for a tasting and bought a couple of bottles. Nice wines, lovely atmosphere. Looked like many people were enjoying their time here.

Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila W, Owner at Jefferson Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Thank you for your visit and review. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews