We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number two on my list of three”

Jefferson Vineyards
Book In Advance
More Info
$195.00*
and up
Private Behind the Scenes Wine Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In 1774, Thomas Jefferson, one of America's first wine connoisseurs, convinced Italian Philip Mazzei to establish a vineyard on our property. With the financial support of Thomas Jefferson, George Washington, Thomas Adams and other prominent colonists, the Virginia Wine Company was founded on present day Jefferson Vineyards. Today Jefferson Vineyards is a boutique, family owned winery. We have been creating nationally recognized, quality Virginia wines from classic varietals for over thirty five years, and are considered a pioneer of the Virginia wine industry. We are located between Monticello (home of Thomas Jefferson) and Ash Lawn (home of James Monroe). We open daily for tastings, from 11AM - 6PM. Tastings are $10 and include a souvenir wine glass. We offer mostly dry wines. Tours are not currently offered. We look forward to your visit.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was my second favorite of the three wineries we visited (Trump, Jefferson, Blenheim). The vineyard is convenient to Monticello, and worth stopping in. The tasting is $10, and you keep your glass. We tasted nine wines and I liked them all :) I wish they had indoor seating - the weather was a little cool to sit out on the deck, but we did it anyway, with a very drinkable bottle of the Viognier, and some crackers and cheese purchased on site.

1  Thank Snooray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila W, General Manager at Jefferson Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear guest. Thank you for your review. This month we are launching our secondary tasting room area (open on our busiest days, including Saturday). In the fall, winter and spring, this area will have some indoor seating for our guests. We hope you can come back and enjoy our wines again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Jefferson Vineyards
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 230 of 303 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We really enjoyed the wine at Jefferson vineyards, but their tasting room was one of the smaller and less nice of the vineyards in the area. Definitely on the crowded side, but still enjoyable. The history of the vineyard makes up for the downsides.

1  Thank lrjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila W, General Manager at Jefferson Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Guest. Thank you for visiting our winery and leaving feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our wines and history. Soon we will open a second tasting room area that will help improve our service, on busier days. With all our tasting room facilities, we try to reflect the character and history of our land, thus keeping an approachable countryside style. Regarding our history, we are also proud that our land was the first to be put under conservation easement in the county of Albemarle. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have visited Jefferson Vineyards twice now and we have loved it each time. The staff is incredibly knowledgeable and friendly. The price of the tasting is reasonable and you get to keep your glass. The wines are super tasty and are fairly inexpensive. And the grounds are beautiful and provide so many fantastic views of the countryside.

1  Thank LAURA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila W, General Manager at Jefferson Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear guest. Thank you for visiting our property twice. It is a pleasure to read your kind words, and a testament to our Jefferson Vineyards team who make good wine and provide a great visitor experience. We are trying our best to improve on the high standards that make this place special, while retaining the approachable character of our business. Please come back for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I stopped in Jefferson which we had visited before but this trip was made by Dan the man, our pourer. He was so enjoyable and engaging, we laughed a lot.

Thank RobertoMangia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attila W, General Manager at Jefferson Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear guest. Thank you for your review. Dan is an engaging person and we are glad you enjoyed your tasting with him. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We squeezed in a stop here and were super glad we did. The wines were excellent (especially compared to another nearby winery we had visited). The glass is plain, but it is a nice glass. Tasting is $10, which is a bit high, but you do get to taste about 10 wines. The tasting area isn't huge, and it was crazy busy when we were there, but they did their best to accomodate everyone. I really wanted to tour this winery, but the tours are only offered at limited times during the day and we could not make those times work around our busy trip. Worth the stop, even if it is just for a tasting.

Thank scubadiverh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jefferson Vineyards also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Jefferson Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing