We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Charlottesville
from $309.00
More Info
from $59.00
More Info
from $79.00
More Info
from $59.00
More Info
Reviews (840)
Filter reviews
838 results
Traveler rating
387
296
136
14
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
387
296
136
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ash lawn guest house original house our tour guide original furniture small house down the road jefferson's monticello founding fathers great tour grounds are lovely gift shop his life interesting history charlottesville area worth a stop the main house
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 838 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We found out that what was thought to be James Monroe's original home was built much later by others. But the history and artifacts saved were of interest and the docent was very very good. Located in a quiet serene place and a good way to relax before visiting the more traveled site of Thomas Jefferson's home Monticello only three miles away.

Thank hockeychief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The actual home burned, so it is outlined on the property with rocks. A tour is given through the property's original (?) guest house, which is quite small, but the rooms are set up to resemble what the rooms might have looked like in the original home. There are pieces of furniture, portraits and clothing attributed to Monroe and his family on the site. The guide was very knowledgeable on Monroe and so we learned interesting information on him. The property is lovely also. They offer an "augmented reality" option for an additional cost but, unless you are really into that sort of thing, don't bother with it. It didn't work for us, so we returned it for refund and they were very accommodating about that.

Thank hollyberry473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were on a tour of 4 US President homes in the area. This one was interesting and told about Monroe's accomplishments. It did not really have much to share as far as actual home of Monroe as the actual home had been destroyed by fire. I would still visit since it helps put these early presidents in perspective for the early development of our country. It is amazing the dedication of these early leaders who did so much to make our country what it is today. It is only within the last few years that the actual foundations of the Monroe home have been discovered. The rather formidable Monticello nearby does detract some from the less than overwhelming facilities here at Highlands. The presidental guest house does depict life in the time of Monroe and gives the knowledgable guide to explain the role of Monroe in history. There is some walking to reach the home, it is not far but on very uneven brick walkways so be prepared for extra care. The gardens and statue of Monroe are pleasant but not so much after having visited Monticello. Perhaps coming here first might be advisable. There were few people in fact we had a private tour - just us and the guide. We enjoyed her tour, the visit to the guest house, few exhibits and film. The film was good and explained the recent excavations. They were conducted in recent years when a new curator kept asking questions and finally through excavations discovered the ruins of the original home.

Thank EastTNTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The house almost is a total recreation as it burned down at one time. Some furniture belonged to Monroe. At best it’s a guess and interpretation of what they think it would’ve looked like since very little was written down by Monroe in contrast to Jefferson. Tour was supposed to be 45 minutes and guide went on and on for well over an hour. I was exhausted. We went after Monticello. Too much for one day. I’d prob skip it. Wanted to give two stars but poor sounds mean. Maybe it’s me.

Thank Marlene G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Learned alot about James Madison and the Constitution. Kids loved talking to James Madison about literature (no James Madison has not read Harry Potter) and marriage.

Thank 565geist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a very nice historic tour. This is a colonial tour that is only recently available, as the home was privately owned. Has active archeological digs going. The guide was very precise in relaying lifestyles. Beautiful grounds and Cafe is wonderful for a break.

Thank FZ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the highland in early October and had a great experience. The drive there was beautiful and the Monroe highland is located in a very scenic, isolated area. We arrived in the visitor center/gift shop and were able to buy our tickets for the next running tour. Our tour guide was very good and went into great detail about the grounds and inside the Monroe home. I went into the tour knowing very little about this president, but left feeling informed and curious to learn more. It was a hot day but the tour mainly took place indoors which was nice. There was not too much walking or ground covered. We enjoy looking inside the guest home and hearing stories of the Monroe family and other visitors. Definitely worth the time and money!

Thank 3cameront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

There is plenty of history of James Monroe here. The President’s home burned down but they have located where the foundation stood. It is interesting and the tour guide tells you many facts. Because of the Presidential history we were glad we went there.

Thank arlened585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

Great guide who was very knowledgeable, keen and enthusiastic for his subject which always makes it a great visit.

Thank purchases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

We had an excellent tour guide but if had it do again, would have definitely skipped the virtual tour. Lots of original James Monroe items in what was originally the guest house but worth the time to visit.

Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews