We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem of a Museum in C-ville VA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kluge-Ruhe Aboriginal Art Collection of the University of Virginia

Kluge-Ruhe Aboriginal Art Collection of the University of Virginia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Kluge-Ruhe Aboriginal Art Collection is the largest collection of Indigenous Australian art outside Australia, and comprises over 1800 objects and paintings created by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists from different regions of Australia. Visiting the Kluge-Ruhe is a terrific opportunity to learn about a different culture, view a film of artists creating and discussing their art, and see the gorgeous views of Charlottesville from this museum on a hill. An exhibition of works from the permanent collection is changed annually, while special exhibitions in the rotating gallery change every four months. Special events include lectures and performances by visiting artists, scholars, and musicians, film screenings, and educational programs for all ages. A free guided tour of the current exhibitions is offered each Saturday at 10:30 am.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Palmyra, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of a Museum in C-ville VA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This beautiful small museum up on a hill in the Pantops section of Charlottesville VA brings traditional and contemporary Australian Aboriginal art work to life. This is one of the few places in the United States where you can experience art that introduces the viewer to Aboriginal peoples' art and culture. Tour on your own or be part of a guided tour. In conjunction with the University of Virginia the museum offers permanent as well as changing art displays, talks by visiting Australian Aboriginal artists as well as continuing ed classes. Definitely a hidden treasure in historic Charlottesville.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank pattysoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren m, Guest Relations Manager at Kluge-Ruhe Aboriginal Art Collection of the University of Virginia, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thanks for the stellar review! Everyone calls the museum a 'hidden gem' so thanks for posting it here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    19
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just okay.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I appreciate the efforts of the curators, but found the exhibit rather thin. Not many pieces on display, and much of the contemporary aboriginal art appears to have been made for the tourist trade.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank daysandusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren m, Guest Relations Manager at Kluge-Ruhe Aboriginal Art Collection of the University of Virginia, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I'm sorry you weren't pleased with the number of pieces on display. Unfortunately we are restricted by the limited space in our current location.

It is true that most Aboriginal art you will encounter in Australia and elsewhere was made for sale to those outside their own communities. We acknowledge this fact as part of the history of Australian Aboriginal art and our collection represents the best work from these communities in various parts of their history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
451 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“expect the unusual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Very different perspective on the planet. Place yourself in the mind of the artist if you can. Charlottesville lucky to have this perspective brought to them.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank samtrip12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing scope of collection”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

The site is exquisite and young woman running gallery was enthusiastic. But collection was very limited and not worth the ride over from our downtown location.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Queen36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren m, Guest Relations Manager at Kluge-Ruhe Aboriginal Art Collection of the University of Virginia, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I'm sorry you didn't feel the museum was worth the ride over from downtown Charlottesville. Thankfully we are only ten minutes away, so I hope it didn't interrupt your day too much.

Unfortunately we are constrained by the size of our space - with over 1700 objects in our collection, we would love to show more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“The Hidden Gem of Charlottesville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

There are just a few galleries, but the aboriginal art is top quality. If it's a typical visit, you may be the only person in the galleries.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ProfessorCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kluge-Ruhe Aboriginal Art Collection of the University of Virginia also viewed

 

Been to Kluge-Ruhe Aboriginal Art Collection of the University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing