We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth A Visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peter Chang's China Grill

Peter Chang's China Grill
Ranked #70 of 514 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: http://peterchangscharlottesville.com
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth A Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Peter Chang's China Grill has a well-designed picture menu. The food borders on the authentic but is not quite there. The restaurant has a warm ambiance and the servers are knowledgeable and friendly. Many of the dishes are on the spicy to hot side and are amongst the best served. Many of the other dishes are rather bland. A drawback is that for frequent diners there the menu has not changed in some time and could use an update.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    53
    21
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worse and worse”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We have eaten here several times. Our first experience in the fall of 2013 was better than average, really pretty good. Subsequent visits have been horrible. The quality of the food has declined dramatically. This is not as good as middle of the road American Chinese. If Peter Chang ever blessed this restaurant, that blessing has worn off. It is a sad disappointment. The food is tasteless and just odd. Their is no atmosphere but that would be all right if the food were only better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank summervisitor30226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Has Peter Chang's name - not his cooking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We tried this restaurant again and found it continues to decline. Food quality moves rapidly toward the bland. "Super hot szechuan" fish plate tasted like microwaved cod with a little red pepper and lots of sauce on it - not at all hot/spicy, no real fish flavor. Deep-fried eggplant was crispy and peppery, but the eggplant had been cooked to mush and had no flavor. Garlic-spinach special appetizer was good, wine reasonable, service attentive. This is certainly not the creative Chinese cooking that Peter Chang's name suggests, but it's clean and OK for people who want large quantities of bland Chinese food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrekkerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
338 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I finally made it here after several recommendations and literally stumbling across it one evening while trying to decide what to eat. What an amazing menu. It would take considerable time to work ones way through the variety of offerings. After a long time deciding I was not disappointed. The staff are friendly and efficient though not overly pushy. This will become a must stop on future trips to the C'ville area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CheshireTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Son picks it after seeing it on Bizzarre Foods”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

While on vacation in the Shenandoah Mountains, my son was watching TV the night before and wanted to try it out. I was up for the drive but not sure especially if it was on the television show known for the odd foods on it's menus. Well it wasn't far off. First you need to like spice as most dishes are spicy. Our waiter was fantastic and described the menu and favorites/recommendations. My son had the lamb chops in a spicy ginger sauce and I have the belly beef bowl. He loved his, I need a stop at the local fast food place afterwards. The beef was for sure "belly" but it must have been belly fat. It was tough and quite an odd taste. The one part of the meal was the Bubble Pancake with a curry dipping sauce. My son would be going back, me not so much.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gobears1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter Chang's China Grill also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Peter Chang's China Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing