We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect much and you won't be disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Carpet Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't expect much and you won't be disappointed.”
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed in this Red Carpet Inn during Family Weekend at UVA. Unfortunately, we waited too long to make a reservation for this busy weekend, and this was the only place that still had rooms. We won't make that mistake again. We were hoping for better, based on the reviews that stated that the rooms had been renovated. The room we stayed in seemed to have new carpet, curtains, bedspreads, and furniture (except for the desk chair which was rickety) but the bathroom was the pits. The sink had cracks and stains, the door to the shower and toilet didn't latch, the tub floor was dingy, the shower nozzle was duct taped, and the plastic shower rod was cracked and peeling. The wood trim (around the doors and the beams on the ceiling) was rough and looked like something that came from the side of a barn. When we turned down the beds we saw stains/oily spots on the sheets. We asked for clean sheets and had to change the beds ourselves because the clerk on duty said he was unable to leave the front desk and housekeeping had gone home for the day.

We really wanted to be able to post a positive review, to help counter balance all the negative ones, but unfortunately we have to agree with everyone who gave this place a thumbs down. The employees at the front desk were friendly and helpful, but that didn't make up for everything else that was substandard.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aschiminger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    9
    11
    34
See reviews for
16
17
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

In the area hiking and needed a clean, inexpensive, convenient, safe motel. The motel is in a convenient, safe location on Route 29; lots of food and shops nearby. It's an older property and from a distance looks OK. On closer inspection, the outside needs some cosmetic attention as did my room. Although clean, there was paint cracked and hanging from the bathroom ceiling, dim lighting, general "oldness". Previous posts indicate room renovations....maybe other rooms but certainly not the one I had. Furnishings were OK, bed comfortable, but blanket was actually in tatters (both beds) and should have been discarded, refrigerator in room nice touch, soap in room but no shampoo or clock, TV OK, good ice machine, no breakfast but coffee in lobby, quiet room but few others in motel, front desk clerk extremely nice. Room rate was $68 + tax. This motel would be a decent value at $50 but at $68 it's overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goneagain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Newport News, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

The room was clean, hot water worked and good water pressure. The beds felt fine and the sheets and bedspread were clean. There weren't too many other travelers there that weekend and the location felt safe. The heater worked great...a little too hot but it was easy to adjust.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailorsgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Was in town for the weekend for the DMB show - upon entering, immediately noticed the musty smell. Had to go to the local store to buy a can of "Febreze" and spray the room down. The room did not have the basic amenities such as shampoo, a clock of any kind, and had poor lighting. There was no hair dryer in the room, but one was provided when we asked at the front desk. On a positive note, the A/C worked well and the staff was friendly and helpful. It is located close to downtown, Monticello and UVA campus. Unfortunately, it was not up to even the minimal standards you'd expect from a moderately priced room.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandHopper2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2009

I really enjoyed my last stay at Red Carpet. I have stayed in this red carpet a couple of times in the past and was satisfied, but not impressed. The rooms used to be very dark and had an old knights theme to it, but the new rooms are quite nice. The staff seemed friendly and the modern furniture (not knight themed) fit the room nicely. I beleave the bed was also bigger (although its hard to tell from one motel to the next). The only downside I had over my last stay was that the WIFI internet went down for about 20 min, although this may have been due to the storm. By the time I had checked my computer and called the guy at the desk the WIFI was back up and I just had to refresh. All in all, I was pleased with my last stay.

  • Liked — Nice Front Desk Staff/ Good Value/ Ground Floor
  • Disliked — Vending was limited
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank phil360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manassas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2008

When I got there the place was on lock down. The police was in full force with shot guns in hand. I was meeting some one there and they were already there in a room so I waited about 1/2 hour before I could get in. After I got in I was told there was a altertation at the check in, thats why the police were there. My friend told me that earlier that day people (not just one person) were spinning ,playing loud music and parting in the parking lot. the rooms wern't in very goodshape. But on the better side of the stay, when I asked the cleaner to change the moldy shower curtin she did. Unless your are going to party I wouldn't stay here.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — about everything
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flstf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2008

I was very impressed with this economy hotel. The Inn has been fully remodeled and was very clean and bright. The Hotel staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and were able to help me in finding all the destenations I have to visit in the Charlottesville area. This hotel is a great value for the money.

Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ppgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville North
Courtyard Charlottesville North
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
351 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#25 of 35 in Charlottesville
140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
#26 of 35 in Charlottesville
181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn Charlottesville

Property: Red Carpet Inn Charlottesville
Address: 405 Premier Cir, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1724
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn Charlottesville 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Red Carpet Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing