We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run the other direction.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Carpet Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Run the other direction.”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We were traveling by car home through Virginia and were stopping for the night. Unfortunately, it was late August by a large university and freshmen orientation had nearly all good hotels booked up. The concierge at one hotel kindly looked at openings in other hotels for us and found "a very basic accommodation" here. When we arrived, the pool was a welcoming shade of greenish brown with caution tape wrapped around the whole perimeter. Several of the doors were also closed off by caution tape. The room looked like it hadn't been updated in a very long time. The sheets were stained, our socks were black from walking on the carpet, and the room smelled. Whoever runs this motel must not take very much pride in their business or in obtaining repeat customers. This facility is now the butt of every bad hotel joke in our family.

Room Tip: Don't even bother. Sleep in your car if you have nowhere else to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gracela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    9
    11
    34
See reviews for
16
17
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The location of this hotel is by the main road and close to downtown but that's pretty much it. When i arrived at this hotel, there was a group of people hanging out outside of their rooms and having bbq and drinks at midnight. They seemed like they have been living there for the last 6 months. So it does get kinda scary.

The room is pretty bad, dirty and just very outdated with old tv, and AC. Roaches is also a problem there. The only good thing i can think of is probably it had mini-fridge in the room, that's about it.

I would not recommend staying here unless you are really in a pinch. It's not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nazim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Midlothian, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed a night here.
It is a one story hotel/motel along the main drive in Charlottesville, VA.
We stayed here in October, but they did have an outside pool. The room was clean but the motel was dated and could use newer furniture and fixtures.
No Breakfast, just coffee in the front lobby.
They do have wireless internet.
Not much else to say- we spent the night after a local wedding. The cab service we used was an all CASH CAB- We had just enough to get to the wedding.Might want to ask if the cabbies take check or charge.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidlothianBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We were in a pinch to attend an event in Nor-Va for one night. This was the last place I wanted to stay, but had to.

Other reviews talked about roaches. I prayed we would get lucky....we did not. We were greeted by some large roaches and many many babies in the sink and bathroom.

This place has not been updated in probably 20+ years. I've stayed in places TWICE as nice for HALF the price.

When I mentioned roaches to the front desk , they shrugged it off like bugs complaints happen all day and night.

If you can find ANYWHERE else to stay in the area, please do!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohlfinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Bare bones is all I can say. Two flat pillows, ratty bedspread with old blood stain on inside of comforter. No clock and and old phone that the buttons were stuck. Electrical outlet with no cover and the outlet went inside of wall when attempting ot plug something in. No shampoo. When asked about the lack of availabe room mmenities I was told very (rehearsed) quickly "we are not required to provide those things!" Bare bottom price so always wonder why everything else in entire area is booked and this place is not......well now you know. So if you want to party down with 20 people in a room, bring your own soap, clock and extra pillows......this place is for you!

Room Tip: Up the road if all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LESLIE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

In a pinch this motel will work. Be advised that ALL of the rooms are smoking rooms. The front desk staff was great and very informed of the historic sites in the Charlottesville area. However, the room left a lot to be desired. Of course, this was a budget motel and we only stayed one night. In a pinch it was okay. Word of advice to anyone staying in the Charlottesville area. You may want to plan your trip when U of Va does not have a home football game if you are expecting to find rooms and at a fairly good price. Now, on a really good note, if you are a history buff, this motel is in a great location. Within 20 minutes of Monticello, only about ten minutes from the U of Va (founded by Thomas Jefferson), failry close to James Madison's Montpelier, near historic Charlottesville and close to the Blue Ridge Mountains. And if you do enjoy history, please do not miss out on Monticello and the rotunda and pavillions at U of Va
Honestly, I would not recommend this motel in anything other than in a pinch. We travel to Charlottesville about once a month for the time being and will be looking for a different place next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Dear Readers,

I hated it.........the housekeepers listen into my family's conversations about other people. The main got after my "friend" about asking people for money. The beds were so uncomfortable they felt like rocks. Plus you had to go out of the room before 12pm to get your rooms cleaned. they cost 70 or 64 or 68 dollars to stay. There are plenty of bad bad things about this hotel to where they will not get my service anymore. Thank You

sincerely,
Harley

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#26 of 35 in Charlottesville
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Charlottesville North
Courtyard Charlottesville North
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
718 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
250 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#28 of 35 in Charlottesville
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn Charlottesville

Property: Red Carpet Inn Charlottesville
Address: 405 Premier Cir, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1724
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn Charlottesville 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Red Carpet Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing