We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a big thing”
Review of Sal's Caffe Italia

Sal's Caffe Italia
Ranked #31 of 553 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a big thing”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Good service but the food was average. I did not like the ambience of the tables outdoor and the prices were expensive for the quality of the food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Myriam Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    71
    32
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

During a recent visit, we found that many of the restaurants high on TripAdvisor were closed on Sunday. We drove around a bit until we discovered the interesting Downtown Mall area which is an open area of streets full of shops and restaurants. We walked up and down the main drag and finally decided to sit in the outdoor area of Sal's.

The three of us all ordered something different and were all very pleased with our food. The service was also quite good and it was nice sitting in the middle of the street in a fenced area outfitted for the servers.

The pricing was a little high but not too bad relative to the food & service quality. We were very pleased with the whole experience, and based on our dinner I would recommend Sal's.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoasterWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Overpriced with a lazy manager”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Well the food was pretty good. The service was slow even though there were few people in the place. What was really disgusting was the manager or owner, maybe Sal, I don't know, was sitting out in the front. He did not say anything as I walked up and looked at the menu posted right next to we're he was sitting. I thought he was outside to smoke or something, or just hanging out. But no, this guy was a boss man of some kind. He was not helping at all, actually he was in the way, making the waitresses bring him the phone instead of attending to the patrons. It was just a weird situation. I ordered a pesto pasta with a little bit of shrimp and chicken, a house salad, and drank water. My total bill with a 15% tip was $28. It was good, not great, but I was really turned off by the lazy guy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMODAKMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very Pleasurable Dining Experience”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have eaten at Sal's several times, both inside (due to weather) and outside. Very good Italian food with ample portion sizes. The outdoor dining is quite nice, and the service is very good. It may seem pricey to some, but it's on par with most of the other restaurants on the Downtown Mall. Definitely one of the better dning experiences on the Mall.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food & Ambiance”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I suspect that the restaurants in Charlottesville's Pedestrian Mall are pitched mostly to the tourists - and the University's students' parents. There are many restaurant choices but the menus hold little variety in pricing - entrees are all around $20, beer & wine a bit pricier than they should be. That said, we had good food at Sal's. It was a cold night so we sat inside & the interior reminded us of several restaurants we'd enjoyed in Rome - authentic ambiance. Service was helpful, our waitress took time with us and answered our questions. No problem with special orders or with splitting one dish between two diners. We did receive bread at our table, the pastas were delicious, as were the salads. Pizzas were delivered to other tables and they looked delicious. Would we go again - absolutely.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's Caffe Italia also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Sal's Caffe Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing