We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific!”

Commonwealth Restaurant & Skybar
Reserve with OpenTable
Commonwealth Restaurant & Skybar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 552 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Woodstock, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We arrived in Charlottesville the Wednesday before Thanksgiving with no specific plans for dinner. As we walked down through the pedestrian mall we came upon Commonwealth. What a find! The food was fantastic and service was just the best. Our server, Adrian was not only attentive, she made the experience fun. A terrific first night in the beautiful city of Charlottesville.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    79
    26
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We had a good time”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Three of us went on a Tuesday night. It was very busy in a good way, perhaps because on Monday and Tuesday there are $15 specials. We ordered off the regular menu and all our food was good. The service was flawless. I look forward to going back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Good location in the Historic district”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We waited for our table at the bar and had nice empanadas as apps, and pleasant conversation with the barkeep. The place is deep and two storeys; it looks like an old storefront, nicely decorated.

Two of us had good salad Nicoise with grilled ahi tuna, sides of grilled broccoli or spinach and onions. One of us had a sirloin steak with green beans, but both were too cold. His side of potatoes was first-rate.

This is a popular spot with locals. They have low-price specials on a couple of items on Mondays and Tuesdays.

They messed up our split bill, but not to worry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rondi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. The recommendations from the staff were spot on. I highly recommend this for great food and drink. Also, the price was reasonable as well.

Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila., Pa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious food, lively atmosphere”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in Charlottesville for two nights and had many people tell us to go to the mall for dinner. Sounded odd to us since we think of a mall as mostly a shopping area. This mall is an outdoor plaza that may have once been a street now beautifully closed to traffic and nicely laid out for strolling around. We wandered into the Commonwealth for dinner and had a wonderful experience. Great food, nice wine selection and great desserts. It was noisy but not obnoxiously so. Service was fine and our waitress was attentive. I would dine here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mussarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commonwealth Restaurant & Skybar also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Commonwealth Restaurant & Skybar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing