We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real hamburger”
Review of Boylan Heights

Boylan Heights
Ranked #93 of 545 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Burger Restaurant/Sports bar
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A real hamburger”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

It really wasn't warm enough to sit outside. I did anyways and enjoyed it. On the Corner, watching people walk on by. This is the best custom-made hamburger. I could choose the bread, lettuce, all the sauces and add on's. And it was delicious, if I do say so myself.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    40
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unexpected fun”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Came in for a beer and an appetizer and had an unexpected good time.

Beer selection on draft was pretty good, and we hit happy hour! Really cheap for good beers! We both tried a new beer that we wouldn't normally try at full price.

Menu looked so good that we wanted to eat full meals, but decided to keep with our theme of several places, small plates. Deep fried potato salad!?!? Had to try that...and it was out of this world good. Flavorful and not greasy. Tater tots with bacon cheese sour cream and fresh (not pickled) jalapeños - wonderful and spicy!

When we go back to Cville, we will absolutely come back here to eat a burger because I'm sure they're fantabulous.

Helpful?
Thank adamthepianoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chespeake, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Burgers!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great food and service. Highly recommend! It was easy to find and had unexpected things on the menu, like organic meat and fresh sides.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ferne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
169 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good Burgers!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were driving through the area and stopped to see a friend attending graduate school at UVA. We met him at Boylan Heights. They have lots of burger options and all their meat supposedly is local, grass fed, etc. They also have the option of making your own burger. So lots of good options. We were there later, after the main lunch crowd so we had good service and got our food quickly. I would imagine though that the place can get quite busy based on its proximity to UVA campus. Burgers were good, fries were delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serendipity5963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Interesting "Burger Bar"”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

nestled in the very crook of University of Virginia's historic "corner", Boylan Heights is a local favorite serving up interesting variations of the great American hamburger. My favorite is the "Green Eggs & Ham Burger", which is served topped with ham, swiss cheese, a fried egg, and pesto sauce on an English muffin. Traditionalists will be able to customize their standard burger with a choice of more than 20 toppings. Also nice, is the choice between curly fries, sweet potato fries, and tater tots. There is also a full bar and decent craft beer selection.

Vibe is strictly college, though relaxed and not overly loud...the UVA gang are a well-mannered bunch. Service is a bit lackadaisical, but nice concept, nice pricing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BJoelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boylan Heights also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Boylan Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing