We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great honeymoon wine outing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Ridge Wine Excursions

Blue Ridge Wine Excursions
Book In Advance
More Info
$185.00*
and up
Weekday Virginia Private Custom Wine Tour from Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blue Ridge Wine Excursions Private Wine Tours offers daily tours that can accommodate parties in size from two to fifty. The President of Virginia Tourism Corporation said this of her tour, "The day was magical; their planning and execution exceeded my expectations." Our Wine Trail Guide will escort you to 3-4 wineries or breweries. Tours include: custom designed itinerary, Wine Trail Guide, transportation, tasting fees, chilled water, and a light snack.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great honeymoon wine outing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had such a great experience with BRWE! We were in the area on our honeymoon and our driver and guide J.C. was able to tailor the tour to best suit us. He made thoughtful suggestions as to which wineries to go to (since there are so many to choose from!) and was knowledgeable about both the wines and the wineries themselves. He was also able to introduce us to many of the owners and staff members as he was on a first name basis with many of them, which made for an enhanced experience for us. It was like being out with a friend rather than just being driven around. Our picnic basket lunch was thoughtfully prepared with quality foods and our car was a nicely appointed Mercedes. Overall, working with BRWE was well worth it as we were able to really relax and enjoy the trip without having to worry about how to get to the next location. They left us with memories of a wonderful day!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    6
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only way to visit the wineries...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were on a long Girlfriends weekend and booked an afternoon tour with Blue Ridge Wine Excursions. Bit was our driver. He was friendly and very knowledgeable about wine in general and the local wineries. His winery choices were perfect for our tastes and he even laughed at our jokes! Our car was clean and he was a gentleman to carry our wine purchases to the car!
I highly recommend Bit and BRWE!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CARNC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Friendly, knowledgeable and a great ride!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I had such a great experience with BRWE! I was visiting Charlottesville from DC with a group of girlfriends to do winery tours. Our driver Rusty was early to pick us up, the car was clean and comfortable, and he even loaded the car with all our gear, which included picnic supplies and a baby! He knew exactly where to go, was extremely professional, yet friendly at the same time. I would absolutely reccommend Rusty and the company to anyone who needs a ride in Charlottesville!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
608 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Absolutely Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Today was our 32nd wedding anniversary. Since our first wine trip was in Napa on our honeymoon, it is a family tradition that we go wine tripping each October. We have done many areas, from Tuscany to the Finger Lakes. Usually, we do it ourselves, especially in California and Oregon. But there are times to hire a driver, as we have done in Mendoza and other places. And we are so glad we did today, in the Blue Ridge Mountains west of Charlottesville.
The wineries here have lovely settings, but they are not close together, and the roads, in a colonial area, are narrow, windy and not easy to navigate if you are not familiar with them.
Our driver, Bit, was knowledgable, friendly and considerate. We had a great time, visiting five lovely wineries and one Cider maker. Bit accommodated our every request, and was prompt and responsive.
We had a lovely afternoon, without any stress or care. This company really knows how to serve their clientele. Highly, highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jays911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day in Virginia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I were visiting our son at UVA and had planned on staying an extra day in Virginia. We booked a wine tour thru Blue Ridge Wine Excursions. We were extremely pleased with their communication with us prior to our wine tour and very pleased with the entire experience. Our driver, JC, picked us up at the Boars Head where we were staying in a black Mercedes Benz. He was so knowledgeable about the area and the vineyards. I would have to say that the day was one of our top 10 days. The weather was beautiful. We enjoyed a lovely picnic lunch at one of the vineyards which overlooked the Blue Ridge Mountains. I felt like I was in Austria. I would highly recommend Blue Ridge Wine Excursions and our driver, JC. Thanks, Andrea and JC!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ridge Wine Excursions also viewed

 

Been to Blue Ridge Wine Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing