We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way to celebrate an Anniversary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at 400 West High
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
1 review
“Way to celebrate an Anniversary”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I was told that this Inn was really good, so for our 40th wedding anniversary my wife and I decided to pack and drive from Washington to Charlottesville. We could not have asked for a better experience, the room was fantastic, the Inn people cold not have been any better, so if you want to have a perfect celebration, GO THERE!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comedorgbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
86
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This charming B&B was perfect for our short trip to Charlottesville. We stayed the the top floor suite. The bathroom was lovely and the bedroom was cozy and warm. There was also a small kitchen and fridge. The location was great for walking into downtown Charlottesville.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahB2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at the Inn at 400 West High for our honeymoon. We absolutely loved all of it!!! Carolyn and Gary were so friendly and sweet! Gary gave us a ride from the train station, and Carolyn greeted us and had the campayne as requested waiting! The Inn is just so warm and welcoming. As soon as you walk in you say WOW what a cute and cozy house. You can tell so much time and love goes into the place. The breakfast Anne and Amanda prepared for us was just not expected and so delicious! The homemade waffles were to die for and the personal touches and omlets made individually OMG wish were back again!!! Thank you so much for making us feel special and welcomed!!! Can't wait to come back!!!

Mr. and Mrs. Stisi (Mike & Renee)

Room Tip: We stayed in the McIntyre Room that had a balcony and fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mstisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We booked the Ridge apartment at the Inn and absolutely enjoyed our stay there. We made a last minute booking and luckily the Inn had a cancellation to accommodate us. Great service! Nicely furnished, extremely clean Room. The breakfast was outstanding as well. Would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realmnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This B&B is absolutely lovely - it was cozy, but modern. Bathrooms were fully updated and the rainfall shower head is absolutely delightful. There is complimentary bottled water and a delicious breakfast.

However, I am only able to give my time spent here 3 stars because of the owner's questionably pricing policies. I stayed here with a few girlfriends in October and we had both the Preston Suite and the Ridge Apartment. We were originally anticipating being a party of 8, which was disclosed to the owner well in advance. We paid for the rooms far ahead of time. We assumed everything was set to go. The week of our arrival, the owner called and told us that the Ridge Apartment does not come with breakfast, so we would have to pay for the 4 individuals staying in that apartment. We were later also told that any additional individuals beyond 2 people in the Preston suite would also have to pay for their breakfast.

In general, I have no problem paying a fee. However, this information is not disclosed ANYWHERE on the website. The ridge apartment is advertised as just another room in the b&b - when you stay at a bed and BREAKFAST, you expect breakfast to come with your room, unless there is an indication otherwise. The preston suite, which is advertised as a room that sleeps 4, also fails to advertise that it only comes with breakfast for 2. The owner chose not to disclose these fees until the week of our arrival. I would recommend for the owner to fully disclose this type of information from the get-go. It was certainly a great disappointment to learn of these questionable fees last minute and it definitely put a damper on our otherwise enjoyable weekend and stay.

Room Tip: The Ridge Apartment does not come with breakfast.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn P, Owner at The Inn at 400 West High, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I'm so sorry that there was confusion in communication. We were trying to give you the best possible pricing. Generally there is an additional charge for extra guests in the rooms, but when I spoke with the person making the booking, this was waived and we agreed to only charge for the extra breakfasts. Thank you for the recommendation to make this clearer in our website. We have done so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Couldn't be cozier...with every nook and corner displaying an arrangement pleasing to the eye and senses. The bed in the Preston Suite was upscale comfortable and the included breakfast was beautifully presented. It's just a short walk to the pedestrian mall of Charlottesville but you hardly want to leave the warmth of the common room's fireplace, books, and fresh cookies! Our host was quickly responsive to my light-sleeper's need by providing a sound machine. Enjoy the charm!

Room Tip: The front corner Preston Suite gets a lot of street traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mloujohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Altamont room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom facilities were well lighted and spacious as well. The location near Main Street Mall is most convenient for excellent restaurants and shops. Parking worked well after the first time in, but then, most traffic in Charlottesville seems convoluted to non-residents.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
0.3 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.9 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.7 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at 400 West High? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at 400 West High

Property: The Inn at 400 West High
Address: 400 West High Street, Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at 400 West High, a Select Registry property, brings the eclectic flair of a continental European bed and breakfast to beautiful downtown Charlottesville. Just two blocks from the Pedestrian Promenade, one mile from the University of Virginia, five miles from Jefferson's Monticello and Monroe's Ashlawn, and just a short drive from the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Inn at 400 West High is ideally located for those who want to visit the historic sights and natural splendor that make Charlottesville famous. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing