We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and hospitality!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at 400 West High
Certificate of Excellence
Mandeville, La, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and hospitality!!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A great location for your trip to Charlottesville. Right near the pedestrian mall which is a fantastic spot for food, drinks and shopping. Carolyn the owner is wonderful. We stayed for four nights attending a wedding and enjoyed the inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PartyNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
86
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Inn at 400 West High is beautifully decorated, modern, fresh, comfortable and elegant without being stuffy or kitschy. I found it much more welcoming and truly comfortable than other B&Bs where I have stayed in the past. Parking is provided and the location across the street from the Downtown Mall in Charlottesville can't be beat. Highly recommended. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night on our way to pick our son up from a local soccer camp. The location is perfect - easy walk to the Pedestrian Mall; Orzo Restaurant where we had a FANTASTIC meal; and of course UVA is nearby!

400 West High is everything you want in a B&B - incredibly charming; really clean (without it feeling antiseptic); very comfy beds and so quiet! We had the McIntyre Room - that comes with a really cute little patio. Our breakfast was delicious and the owner so gracious! I cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamwjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, KY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I rarely write reviews, but will for this outstanding B & B. This property sets the standard for B & Bs. Gracious hosts, plentiful creature comforts, and decorated with the artist's eye. The property has an unusual layout with nooks and crannies inside and out, many of which have fine garden amenities. The bed induced comatose sleep, and the food was superb.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marytheotokos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Inn at 400 West High a few weeks back for a quick overnight getaway without the kids. We had a fantastic time and highly enjoyed our stay. The close proximity to the walking mall is great and I like that you have to walk through a bit of neighborhood to get there. We have no complaints and will definitely stay here again.

The Inn has a european feel. It brought us back to our time in Europe, from the brick floors to the beautifully decorated kitchen/breakfast area. No details was left unnoticed.

If you're unsure of where to stay in C-ville, this is the place, hands down.

Room Tip: The McIntosh was an awesome room. Private balcony and entrance, very bright and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcspaulding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I called last minute to book a stay and was a little apprehensive about my late arrival on a Sunday night. Normally this can bring out grumpiness in some inn keepers, not Carolyn! She warmly greeted me and welcomed me into her charming inn, I instantly felt at ease. Not a detail is overlooked; the decor is unique, beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast both times I've stayed has been scrumptious! I stay at B&B's often but rarely encounter such a luxury, freshly decorated B&B, this is a real gem!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaska16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

nice clean rooms, bright and airy - with a cozy commonplace with great wine and breakfast. Really enjoyed it, wished that we could have stayed more than one night. A little hard to find at first, but I wasn't familiar with the area. Crepes for breakfast, good coffee, and everything we needed all night long. Next time I'm in charlottesville, i hope to get back there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
0.3 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.9 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.7 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at 400 West High? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at 400 West High

Property: The Inn at 400 West High
Address: 400 West High Street, Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at 400 West High, a Select Registry property, brings the eclectic flair of a continental European bed and breakfast to beautiful downtown Charlottesville. Just two blocks from the Pedestrian Promenade, one mile from the University of Virginia, five miles from Jefferson's Monticello and Monroe's Ashlawn, and just a short drive from the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Inn at 400 West High is ideally located for those who want to visit the historic sights and natural splendor that make Charlottesville famous. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing