We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Charlottesville!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at 400 West High
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in Charlottesville!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I went to grad school in Cville and have stayed at many of the hotels and inns in the area over the years (South Street, Omni, Clifton Inn, etc.). The Inn at 400 West High surpasses them all. Its location is very convenient - a short walk to the downtown mall and Bodos (on Preston). I stayed with my sister and a friend in the Ridge Apartment on the top floor, and it was spacious, bright, clean, and beautiful, with two sleeping areas, a lovely kitchen/dining area, and amazing balcony/patio. The bathroom is very unique with a vaulted ceiling and wall of stained glass! Carolyn, the Proprietor, is wonderful and has paid attention to every detail, from the high quality linens to the fridge stocked with sodas and bottled water. The communal area on the main floor is beautiful, cozy, and charming, and reminded me of a Paris patisserie. The website's photos do not do the Inn justice. We did not want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GC333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
92
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was the second time my husband and I stayed here, and we are just sorry we didn't know about it sooner!!! The location-perfect, the rooms-beautiful, the bathroom-huge, the breakfasts-delicious! The owner Carolyn is so warm and inviting, and the whole inn exudes charm. Don't miss a chance to stay here!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TishBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

What a delightful surprise!!! Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated with a bathroom complete with steam shower. Carolyn, the proprietress, was warm, hospitable, and a wonderful breakfast chef. The location is perfect for strolling along the mall....I highly recommend this inn!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoughton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I needed a night away and I knew I wanted some place close to downtown so we could walk to restaurants, etc. We chose the Inn at 400 West High due to it's extremely close location and also it's tasteful decorating. We are SO glad that we did. Not only is the inn very tastefully decorated, it is also completely comfortable and welcoming! The owner was lovely and very kind - and also makes a great breakfast! We stayed in the McIntire room and the bed was SO comfortable. We also loved our bathroom/shower - it had a great glass door to the shower.
Because we were the only ones staying in the inn that night, we got a little tour of all of the other rooms - they were so spacious and comfortable - each one with it's own personality and perks.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: the mcintire was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was out second stay at 400 West High. Both times we stayed in the McIntire room and loved it. This time we rang in the New Year there and we couldn't have been happier. It is within an easy walk to lots of activities and great restaurants downtown and an easy drive to all of the historical sights.

Room Tip: The McIntire has a beautiful terrace and a stairway straight to the eating area, so wonderful smells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraandBob3489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed in the Ridge Apartment during my wedding weekend and could not have been more pleased. The room was beautifully appointed, and the full kitchen came in handy throughout the weekend. Breakfast both mornings was incredible. Would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirl8427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

This was a gem of a spot! I was surprised that the rooms were so large here. The Altamont room has a cute little sitting patio and a very large shower with steam shower heads. It was very relaxing! The host made us feel right at home and made herself available for downtown directions ( the pedestrian mall was just a block away) and area information. We slept well and breakfast was delightful.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Littletoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,742 reviews
0.3 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
84 reviews
0.9 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
303 reviews
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at 400 West High? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at 400 West High

Property: The Inn at 400 West High
Address: 400 West High Street, Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at 400 West High, a Select Registry property, brings the eclectic flair of a continental European bed and breakfast to beautiful downtown Charlottesville. Just two blocks from the Pedestrian Promenade, one mile from the University of Virginia, five miles from Jefferson's Monticello and Monroe's Ashlawn, and just a short drive from the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Inn at 400 West High is ideally located for those who want to visit the historic sights and natural splendor that make Charlottesville famous. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing