We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at 400 West High
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed in the Ridge Apartment during my wedding weekend and could not have been more pleased. The room was beautifully appointed, and the full kitchen came in handy throughout the weekend. Breakfast both mornings was incredible. Would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGirl8427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 148 of 148 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

This was a gem of a spot! I was surprised that the rooms were so large here. The Altamont room has a cute little sitting patio and a very large shower with steam shower heads. It was very relaxing! The host made us feel right at home and made herself available for downtown directions ( the pedestrian mall was just a block away) and area information. We slept well and breakfast was delightful.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Littletoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Such a Perfect Place for a intimate wedding! The hostess did a marvelous job and did everything to make sure all the details of our small wedding went off without a problem. Everything worked perfectly for us. Perfect breakfast too! the Fresh fruit salad with yogurt and waffle. Yum!
Other things you can expect are fluffy towels, bathrobes to lounge in, unique bathrooms, the best comfy mattresses and large pillows, quiet areas, cleanliness beyond fault.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlottesvillebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I wanted a 2 night stay not more than 3 driving hours away from home, interesting things to do that did not demand alot of physical stamina, and beautiful comfortable surroundings, with nice ambience. The Inn at 400 West High in Charlottesville gave us all of that and more. The more was Carolyn, the on site innkeeper/owner. We felt as if we were in a lovely home of an old friend. We had a first floor room with a king size bed with a good mattress with soft linens, flat screen TV, good reading lights, modern bathroom with a large multi-spray shower, a seating area in front of fireplace. The living room /breakfast/kitchen area is filled with daylight with all kinds of attactive and unique decorations.The location is good, near the walking mall of downtown (no cars) and excellent restaurants. Driving to Monticello, U of VA, and the home of Monroe are not far. Madison's home is about a 45 minute ride, so we went there on our way home. All in all, we enjoyed relaxing for our 54th wedding anniversary. This was one of the best B & Bs at which we have stayed.

Room Tip: I only saw our room which met our needs on the 1st floor. There are 3 other rooms on 2nd floor, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Queen36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I've just returned from an overnight stay with two girlfriends at the Inn at 400 West High, and I have to tell you it is fabulous! Every area of the home is updated with beautiful finishes and the owner just absolutely takes care of everything you could possibly need. We all stayed in a large suite with a queen bed, day bed and trundle, plus a sunroom and a gorgeous bathroom. Everything was perfect. We arrived to home made cookies at 4pm and then enjoyed a fabulous, full blown breakfast the next morning that we are still talking about!

The location is perfect walking distance to the downtown shops/restaurants. We were in town for a concert at John Paul Jones Arena and chose to walk to a restaurant downtown for dinner and then catch a cab to the arena. Very convenient I highly recommend this location and do plan on bringing my husband up for a quiet weekend sometime soon. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed here with three friends for a long weekend trip. The location is extremely convenient for walking to the restaurants and shops in downtown Charlottesville. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable, as were the common areas. The only problem we had at all is that we couldn't figure out how to turn on the heat in our suite, and it was too late to go downstairs and ask for help. We just threw extra blankets on the bed and got a great night's sleep.

Room Tip: The top floor is a two-bedroom suite with a full kitchen ~ it was great for a group!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1060WestAddison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.7 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
0.3 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
720 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Foxfield Inn
Foxfield Inn
#2 of 16 in Charlottesville
720 reviews
6.3 mi away
Albemarle Estate at Trump Winery
Albemarle Estate at Trump Winery
#7 of 16 in Charlottesville
67 reviews
2.3 mi away
Inn at Monticello
Inn at Monticello
#4 of 16 in Charlottesville
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at 400 West High? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at 400 West High

Address: 400 West High Street, Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $200 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at 400 West High 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at 400 West High, a Select Registry property, brings the eclectic flair of a continental European bed and breakfast to beautiful downtown Charlottesville. Just two blocks from the Pedestrian Promenade, one mile from the University of Virginia, five miles from Jefferson's Monticello and Monroe's Ashlawn, and just a short drive from the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Inn at 400 West High is ideally located for those who want to visit the historic sights and natural splendor that make Charlottesville famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at 400 West High reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing