We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly, Grimey and Small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Second hand motel furniture, cigarette burns on everything (including the tub) in a non-smoking room, a overpowering smell of old cigarettes and mold, non-functioning ventilation, non opening windows, broken phone, lousy tv reception. All this for only $125 a night!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttonboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 557 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2008

This was an unexpectedly awful hotel. I stayed at the Quality Inn next to it once, and wished I knew about the Days Inn at that time because it had all the amenities, which Quality Inn guests were told to share. Boy was I wrong about actually staying at this Days Inn. Despite the fact that this place has its own Red Lobster, and an ok pool, my room was dirty, particularly the beds. The sheets were dirtier than the blankets! I thought they washed those regularly! The shower was decent, but the floor of the bathtub creaked with every step. The showerhead appeared to be the newest, cleanest piece in the bathroom and worked fine. In fact, if water is your biggest concern, you may be happy here. Anything connected to water worked fine. But seriously, the room was in shabby conditions. Wallpaper was in ill condition here and there, and floors were questionable in places. The TV had a weak picture too. The good news is that I never actually saw any bugs of any kind. But, I figured their favorite place would be in the beds, which were awful. Other furniture was just plain old, and a bit dirty too. I was not impressed with the beds at all. My box spring was falling apart! Bed bugs had better pick up some change of address forms. This hotel needs to retire those beds!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USAdventurer06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

This hotel was horrible! The first thing we noticed was the room was hot as you-know-where. The AC was witched to "On", but it was not working, so we had to buy a fan from a nearby store. The microwave was full of the previous occupants' (or even the ones' before them) food bits, and the shower looked like it hadn't been scrubbed in years! The room kind of stunk, too. I do have to say the beds were quite comfortable, however. Do yourself a favor, and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abelincoln1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

I stayed in this Day's Inn for five nights - it was a university rate which I thought was very reasonable. They gave me a room that had two double beds just for myself. The first several nights I found a couple of bites and assumed it was a spider. I switched beds the last night and woke up the next morning in hives. Upon closer inspection of the room, it was dirtier than I thought, hadn't been very well cleaned (there were hairs from the previous occupant still in the bed), there was torn wallpaper (breeding grounds for bedbugs), and the shower looked like it hadn't been scrubbed. I am a university student and love a good deal but looking like a plague victim after the fact isn't worth it.
To their credit, they did give me a partial discount, took the room offline, and gave me a free ride to the bus station.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Solerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

There is not enough room on this page to write all the negatives about this hotel. The non-smoking room smelled very strongly of stale smoke. The carpet was disgustingly filthy, as was the floor in the bathroom. There was a constant sound of running and gurgling water, 24/7, which we were told by maintenance was the cooling system and that "it's just an old hotel". The security chain was broken and never fixed. The TV remote was missing a battery and even when we finally got it replaced almost 48 hours later, it still didn't work. Complaining at the front desk got no response. We were simply told there was nothing that could be done. We stayed here during UVA graduation weekend and at $169.95 a night with a 3 night minimum, you would think they could at least afford to clean the rooms!! Do not patronize this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agrieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

The room I stayed in was in desperate need of repairs/redecoration. The furniture was chipped and dirty. The tub and sink were worn and yellowed. In the morning, there was a huge puddle in front of the toilet where the ceiling had leaked during the night. The A/C made so much noise that I had to turn it off.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank travelloverVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

A decent hotel with basic amenties and located right on Route 29.

This hotel has a Red Lobster in it so you can get steak and seafood while you stay here.

The best thing was the massive pool area this hotel has.

The biggest pool area of all the hotels in Charlottesville.

Don't expect 5 star service, but you'll get your moneys worth at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank caneshockey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
#25 of 35 in Charlottesville
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#26 of 35 in Charlottesville
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
265 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
533 reviews
0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charlottesville-UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Address: 1610 Emmet St N, US 29 North & US 250, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $62 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Charlottesville / University Area Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing