We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy & Unsafe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Absolutely filthy, disgusting, and unsafe. You'd be better off sleeping in your car and showering in a carwash. This hotel was booked sight unseen by my company while we were at a conference because everything else in town was booked. I walked into the room, and walked right back out and demanded a refund. There were men smoking and drinking on the balcony, the room was filthy and reeked of chemicals, and the entire property is in a state of disrepair. This hotel is a black eye on the Day's Inn brand - I don't know where you would even begin to rehab it. Would recommend the owners bulldoze the land and sell it - they obviously don't have any business running a hotel.

Room Tip: Sleep in your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keni P, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

thank you for the response. we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced while on your stay in Charlottesville. we are making changes to the property to make it more convenient for all the guest. we hope to make the next stay in Charlottesville more pleasing. again greatly sorry for the inconvenience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 553 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

Have stayed here in the past, and the rooms were old but at least clean, this time even though I was suppose to be in a Non-smoking room..yea it smelled. The roof had leaked, there was a water stain down the center of the whole ceiling of the room with clear signs of mold. Tried to change rooms. Was told that they did not have any others available.
Bed frame squeaked with any movement

Two of the 3 mornings, by the time I went for breakfast at 7:30a there was hardly anything left, and they did not even had water to drink. When I asked if I could get some, I was told it was in vending machines.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keni P, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience you had experienced during your stay. We are making changes in all areas to better the experience to the guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Keni P, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Sonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Keni P, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Keni P, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

NEVER stay here! It was flthy, sheets stained, carpet disgusting and women wondering around the property early in the morning, kind of wondered why they were around so early in the morning looking for gas money to get home???? Attendent told us to call 911 if we had any trouble????

We never took off our clothes or socks and slept without any sheets/blankets but with our own blanket. So afraid of everything but too late to go to another place for it was 1"30 in the morning by the time we arreived from the DC airport. Could not get out of there fast enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacksonRandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keni P, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

thank you for the response. we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience during the stay. we have been making changes to the hotel. we hope to make the next stay better

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Well, we checked in & the lady at desk didn't greet us..then she gives us our key & doesn't explain where the room is..took us a few rounds to find..room is cold when we arrive..heat seems to not work..bathroom is in bad condition peeling paint stains..room is small, tv is small. bed spread has burn holes...this is just ten mins in..

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyNicole86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keni P, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

thank you for the response. we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience you may have experienced while on your stay. we are making the changes to the hotel. we hope to make the next stay better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
3.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#26 of 35 in Charlottesville
150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#28 of 35 in Charlottesville
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
#25 of 35 in Charlottesville
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Address: 1610 Emmet St N, US 29 North & US 250, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $64 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Charlottesville / University Area Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing