We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want Bedbugs? Then this Days Inn is for you!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed June 25, 2008

I stayed in this Day's Inn for five nights - it was a university rate which I thought was very reasonable. They gave me a room that had two double beds just for myself. The first several nights I found a couple of bites and assumed it was a spider. I switched beds the last night and woke up the next morning in hives. Upon closer inspection of the room, it was dirtier than I thought, hadn't been very well cleaned (there were hairs from the previous occupant still in the bed), there was torn wallpaper (breeding grounds for bedbugs), and the shower looked like it hadn't been scrubbed. I am a university student and love a good deal but looking like a plague victim after the fact isn't worth it.
To their credit, they did give me a partial discount, took the room offline, and gave me a free ride to the bus station.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Solerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 537 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2008

There is not enough room on this page to write all the negatives about this hotel. The non-smoking room smelled very strongly of stale smoke. The carpet was disgustingly filthy, as was the floor in the bathroom. There was a constant sound of running and gurgling water, 24/7, which we were told by maintenance was the cooling system and that "it's just an old hotel". The security chain was broken and never fixed. The TV remote was missing a battery and even when we finally got it replaced almost 48 hours later, it still didn't work. Complaining at the front desk got no response. We were simply told there was nothing that could be done. We stayed here during UVA graduation weekend and at $169.95 a night with a 3 night minimum, you would think they could at least afford to clean the rooms!! Do not patronize this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agrieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

The room I stayed in was in desperate need of repairs/redecoration. The furniture was chipped and dirty. The tub and sink were worn and yellowed. In the morning, there was a huge puddle in front of the toilet where the ceiling had leaked during the night. The A/C made so much noise that I had to turn it off.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank travelloverVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

A decent hotel with basic amenties and located right on Route 29.

This hotel has a Red Lobster in it so you can get steak and seafood while you stay here.

The best thing was the massive pool area this hotel has.

The biggest pool area of all the hotels in Charlottesville.

Don't expect 5 star service, but you'll get your moneys worth at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank caneshockey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2007

I stayed at this Days Inn on 12/01/07 and found it to be just what I needed - clean, comfortable accommodations. The inn is a bit older, and it is clearly showing it's age, but I really could give a flip about curtains, upholstery and such. The TV worked, the bed was comfortable, the alarm clock woke me and the shower was hot. Clean towels, plenty of soap, and an in-room coffeemaker.


Nothing TRAUMATIC, nothing dirty, smelly or unclean, so I didn't have to sleep in my car. It’s not glamorous, but it’s worth it for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kdalton0729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We recently spent 10 nights in mid-October at the Days Inn while exploring the Charlottesville area. We found it to be convenient for exploring. The bed was comfortable. It wasn't fancy, but the price was very right and adequately met our needs. The front desk was pleasant and helpful. And on the last day we checked out a bakery/luncheon place called Hot Cakes that was fabulous. It's lucky we didn't discover it at the beginning of our travels, as we would have probably eaten too many pastries during our stay.

1  Thank AndreaZNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

This place is TERRIBLE, chronically unclean and in poor repair. My mother-in-law made the mistake of staying here while in town for my wedding and was greeted with a filthy bed -- I mean, as she lifted the bedspread she saw HUMAN MATTER which means they don't really trouble themselves to change bed sheets here. Stay at your own risk.

I and my mother-in-law repeatedly tried to contact the manager about this HORRIBLE, TRAUMATIC incident, and were rewarded with 50% off our next stay at that Days Inn. Incredible.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank UVA_graduate_student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#26 of 35 in Charlottesville
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
#25 of 35 in Charlottesville
188 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#29 of 35 in Charlottesville
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#18 of 35 in Charlottesville
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Address: 1610 Emmet St N, US 29 North & US 250, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $66 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Charlottesville / University Area Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing