We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Days Inn -- Met our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Watervliet
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Days Inn -- Met our needs”
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We recently spent 10 nights in mid-October at the Days Inn while exploring the Charlottesville area. We found it to be convenient for exploring. The bed was comfortable. It wasn't fancy, but the price was very right and adequately met our needs. The front desk was pleasant and helpful. And on the last day we checked out a bakery/luncheon place called Hot Cakes that was fabulous. It's lucky we didn't discover it at the beginning of our travels, as we would have probably eaten too many pastries during our stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaZNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    84
    132
    120
    153
See reviews for
207
90
50
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2007

This place is TERRIBLE, chronically unclean and in poor repair. My mother-in-law made the mistake of staying here while in town for my wedding and was greeted with a filthy bed -- I mean, as she lifted the bedspread she saw HUMAN MATTER which means they don't really trouble themselves to change bed sheets here. Stay at your own risk.

I and my mother-in-law repeatedly tried to contact the manager about this HORRIBLE, TRAUMATIC incident, and were rewarded with 50% off our next stay at that Days Inn. Incredible.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank UVA_graduate_student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

I booked this place for a spur of the moment Labor Day trip to Charlottesville, and after I read the reviews on here I was terrified. I don't know where all of the low reviews came from because my experience was very positive.

It's an older motel (as in, the doors are outside), but once I walked into the room I felt like I was in any other mid-grade hotel. The room was very tidy, the sheets were fresh and clean, the only stains I saw weren't stains at all (it was one little chip in the bath tub), the staff was pleasant, and the only noise I heard was no different than anywhere else (an occasional voice of someone walking by or a slamming door).

I'd definitely stay here again because it was quite cheap. It's nothing fancy, but nothing unpleasant at all.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank angelinabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

This was by far the absolute worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. I have traveled across this country several times and have stayed in several different hotels. This will be my last stay at any Days Inn. I was booked a NON-smoking room by hotels.com, but the hotel would not honor that reservation, and forced us to stay in a smoking room. Hotels.com was on the phone w/them for a long time, and the hotel would do absolutely NOTHING! I tried to use the phone in the room, but the buttons were broken. The phone was never replaced even though I told the front desk right after check-in. The room was stale smelling, and there were cigarette burns on the sink and tub. The toilet had dried urine all over the bowl and base, and the tub had black dirty footprints in it. The room was cleaned the next day after I complained to the manager. I had asked for him the previous evening, and the front desk refused to contact him or the "on-call" maintenance man. There was another maintenance man in the hotel lobby, but he had NO keys. The keys were w/the on-call man at his home. The second night - all the hotels in the city were booked - at around midnight the neighbors were having footraces on the balcony outside our room. I tried to call the front desk on my cell phone, and no one answered. After complaining in writing to the manager of the hotel, all I received was a letter of apology and an offer for me to please choose their hotel the next time I travelled to Charlottesville. I should have received a complete refund of the entire amount I paid for my stay.

  • Liked — That I was only booked for two nights
  • Disliked — Filthy Bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cricketwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2007

I had accidentally booked a smoking room instead of a non-smoking room - my fault. However the clerk at the desk was 100% unwilling to provide any assistance in making a change.

The first room we were given was already occuppied! Lugage. personal items all sorts of stuff. OOps long walk back to the desk.

Assigned another room. Let's see. 50% of electrical outlets did not work. Paper thin towels, sheets and blankets. Wall covering and paint peeling from the bathroom ceiling - right over the shower.

Coffee maker not cleaned. Went to make hot water for tea and it came out brown YUCK!.

Broken ice machines all over the place. The A/C worked ok as long as you didn't mind fiddling with the control knobs which were loose.

50% of the lamp fixtures did not work. Automatic wake-up call system inoperative. Called to desk for a wakeup call. But it was 10 minutes late.

Parking is very crowded. Bring your Cooper Mini not your SUV.

Grouting in bathroom was dirty, cracked and pulling away. Carpet felt grimmy.

Sleep in your car.

  • Liked — Leaving!
  • Disliked — Having to pay for this crap
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank No_More_Days_Inns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2007

Stayed here for a Lacrosse tournament. Even the teen-age boys were grossed out. We moved to another hotel in the area.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Filth
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YorktownBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2006

Stay away from this hotel if possible. I was there during an orientation for my daughter. This hotel smelled really really bad. The air conditioning was noisy and not that cool. The maids made sloppy beds and did nothing to pick up paper on the floor. The room was not sanitary looking at all. The only thing good about it was that the towels were clean and the front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. I would not stay here again if I had a choice. I spent most of the time away from the hotel and dreaded going back to get any rest. I left there exhausted because I could not rest well with the noise and the smell.

  • Liked — Front desk staff were great
  • Disliked — the stinky smell
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away if possible... make this your last resort
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Specialk5518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
#26 of 35 in Charlottesville
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#25 of 35 in Charlottesville
140 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#28 of 35 in Charlottesville
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
99 reviews
1.3 mi away
Excel Inn & Suites
Excel Inn & Suites
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - Un...
#29 of 35 in Charlottesville
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Property: Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area
Address: 1610 Emmet St N, US 29 North & US 250, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Charlottesville / University Area Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing