We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vegetarian Ethnic food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afghan Kabob Palace

Afghan Kabob Palace
Ranked #69 of 538 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Ethnic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The food is Authenic the people are wonderfull and acomodating.
The Vegetarian Auskak is addicting
The Firnee is to die for, it is a nice way to end the meal .
The lunch buffet give those new to Afghan food a nice assortment as well as do the Combo dinners

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank larryE1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    33
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hooville, VA
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch buffet slipping”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was my third visit to the Afghan Kabob for their lunch buffet, on a Wednesday. Previous visits were positive, this one was a let down. Perhaps because UVA students are gone for the summer, they've cut waaaay back on selection. In fairness, the buffet included lamb dish -- rather flat to me, yet ok if you like un-trimmed lamb chunks. Buffet also included butternut squash, an eggplant dish, and a spicy, but dry chicken patty. No sauces; so dry. Even more puzzling, no kabobs (rather ironic given the name of the place). Also included a forgettable bread and salad. (with just ranch dressing) Lame for an $8.95 buffet. Best to call ahead and find out what the lunch buffet offerings are on a given day, but not sure I'll be back. Very disappointing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank havaiwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful Food and All the Rest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Have you ever asked your hotel to suggest a good restaurant and and wished you haven't? I have many times had this experience, but this time the ending was just the opposite!!!! It was one of the best meals I've ever had!! The service was excellent, the decor was authentic and inviting, and the cost was very reasonable. I would recommend the Afgan Kabob Palace to anyone who is a lover of adventurous cuisine. It is TRULY A TREAT!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PortlandTraveler345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely great and moderately priced Afghan restaurant in Charlottesville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Afghan Kabob Palace is a really good, moderately priced Afghan restaurant. I’ve had dinner here a couple of times and I will definitely go back. They have a lunch buffet special that I haven’t done but from the menu it looks like a deal. The real treat is the appetizers. All are plus or minus $3.50 — Vegie or meat samosas, great Afghan dumplings of different sorts (Manto is great, Balani Gandana (Potato turnover with leeks), just try them all. One could easily make a meal of the appetizers. The sides are also good and quite varied. We did a BYOB with wine last time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had the Dinner for Two combination, and everything was delicious! Eggplant with bread, Beef and vegetable Samosas, salad, separate chicken and lamb dishes, finished with a rosewater custard and some of the best baklawa I've ever tasted. I enjoy the lunch menu, and the lunch buffet, but this is definitely a great place to eat dinner as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rahaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afghan Kabob Palace also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Afghan Kabob Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing