We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced”
Review of UVA Inn at Darden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
UVA Inn at Darden
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2014

My husband & I have been staying at The Inn at Darden for a few years now (two to three times a year). Our son goes to UVa, so it's very convenient. The rooms are basic - clean, somewhat comfortable (I wish they would offer King beds in some of the rooms, they are certainly big enough) reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area, and they offer a very limited continental breakfast. The way the rooms are are spread out, it can be a little confusing with all of the hallways & levels. One thing I love about it is that the staff is really wonderful - very accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmarcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you have made us your home away from home while visiting your son. Our location is convenient to UVa as well as other surrounding attractions. While our property layout is unique, our staff will make sure everyone gets where they are going as you have found out. Go Hoos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 320 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

I've tried a variety of lodging experiences in Charlottesville over the last two years. A swell B&B, a swank downtown chain hotel, and of course the UVA rite de passage, the Cavalier Inn. Fortunately, I heard about the Inn at Darden. I am their customer. The Darden is clean, comfortable, and fairly priced. A special request at breakfast was generously met. The room was clean, quiet and reasonably comfortable for two people. Had I been travelling alone the queen bed would have been perfect.

If the university is the reason for your trip short of being a guest of President Sullivan hard to imagine you could have a better experience than this.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for your review. We're proud to be at the top of your list when visiting Charlottesville. We agree with your comment regarding our value. We provide a pleasant experience without breaking the bank. We look forward to taking care of you each time you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I attended a week long class at the nearby Judge Advocate Generals school and the Inn at Darden was really convenient because I could walk to class. Parking is limited at the JAG school and the Inn offers free parking. With the free parking, I could drive to various restaurants in the area and have a space when I returned. The room itself was clean, nicely furnished, had Wifi for multiple devices (each had a separate password) and a large TV. I am recommending the Inn to all of my colleagues who will attend a JAG school class. I would definitely stay there again if attending any training on or near the UVA campus.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for your review and referring the Inn to all your colleagues. As you pointed out, our location is very convenient to many local attractions, restaurants and shops. We also offer complimentary parking, Wi-Fi, Continental Breakfast and bottled water in each room. We hope you'll back again soon whether for business or pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at the Inn for two weeks of Executive training and the experience was wonderful. The entry ways are secure and everything from the common areas to the individual room was well maintained and very clean. It is clear that staff understands the importance of details because this was a five star experience. Close to everything to include great food, track, gym and swimming pool.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope you felt like the Inn was your home away from home. Whether staying for two weeks or just overnight, we agree that we offer 5 star results without the 5 star rates. Hope you will be able to visit the area again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

While attending orientation for our son at UVA, we stayed overnight at the Inn at Darden. It's a very nice option close to campus with a reasonable price for Charlottesville. I would love to stay there with our daughter while visiting our son, but it seems that there are only accommodations for two. The location is very nice and the breakfast (pastries, fruit and coffee) was exactly what we wanted.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KelleySk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for your review. We hope you will be able to stay here every time you visit your son. We can certainly add a rollaway to your room to accommodate your daughter when she makes the trip to see her brother. Go Hoos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We came across the Darden Inn while searching for a place to stay while visiting our daughter. What a great find!!! We have stayed three times total and every time have been impressed iwth the staff, breakfast, the rooms and we love the location on the beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PMM252014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for your review. We're glad you have enjoyed each of your stays with us and look forward to many more. Our wonderful staff, location, and amenities certainly set us apart. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We went to C'ville to celebrate a friend's birthday. The Inn was @midway between her house and the Corner, so it fit the bill logistically. After an arduous explanation of how to get to our room everything went well. (Wouldn't it be easier to say "Go to the first whie door on the right?") Great Staff; snacks and Continental breakfast in the Gatehouse, and a comfortable room. A real value for the money as well. And the room number was the same as my first year dorm in 1965! No matter where I stay in Charlottesville, I feel welcome, but this place made me feel back home.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wah0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thanks for your review. Our staff, amenities and location make us an ideal choice regardless of your reason for visiting the area. In response to your comments on room directions, we will be rolling out a new signage package next month that should make it easier for our guests to find their way around the property. Go Hoos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.0 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#29 of 35 in Charlottesville
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,812 reviews
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
945 reviews
1.5 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UVA Inn at Darden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UVA Inn at Darden

Address: 100 Darden Blvd, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1760
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: $126 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — UVA Inn at Darden 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the University of Virginia Inn at Darden in Charlottesville, Virginia offering historic and gracious on-Grounds hotel accommodations. The Inn is an ideal property for individuals, groups and conferences, close to shopping, downtown Charlottesville and many local attractions. Relax and enjoy our dignified traditional hotel offering an excellent location, outstanding service and convenient amenities. Guests at the Inn may choose from 177 charming accommodations featuring a traditional Jeffersonian décor and numerous amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi, microwave and mini-fridge and complimentary lighted guest parking seven days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your UVA Inn at Darden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing