We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for UVA/CVille visits” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of UVA Inn at Darden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
UVA Inn at Darden
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for UVA/CVille visits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I've been travelling to the Darden Business school every other weekend and I always stay here. My room is always clean and ready to go when I need it, and the staff are extremely courteous and helpful. Through several stays I've never had an issue. The meeting rooms (and pub!) make staying here extremely convenient. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks for your review. We're glad that you have enjoyed your stays with us and look forward to many more. Our staff represents The Inn very well and we hope you consider us your home away from home. See you on your next trip to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    94
    25
    11
    2
See reviews for
82
72
15
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed here over Father's Day weekend and enjoyed our stay very much. The room was clean, neat and tidy. The Inn is situated on the grounds of the Darden Business School. Students were not there at the time we were there so the campus was peaceful.

The continental breakfasts for Saturday and Sunday were delightful. Plenty of food and staged in the lower bar area of the Gatehouse, which opened to a lovely patio. It is a different story though on week days. On Monday it is stage in the main lobby and there is virtually no food and no comfortable place to eat. We decided not to eat breakfast there on Monday.

We visit C'Ville 3-4 times a year. We do plan to stay at the Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fauljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks for your review. We welcome all travelers year round and hope you can experience a football weekend some time. We are experimenting with our Continental Breakfast and determining how and where best to deliver it. Our Front Desk area in the Gatehouse can get congested during high occupancy nights, so we have started using the Pub, which has more space and seating. I do apologize for your experience on Monday, as b'fast should be fully stocked from 6-10am, with the same menu each day.
We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

So convenient to Darden and the Law School, very comfortable, and super friendly. I book in advance to make sure I get a room. They remember my preferences and greet me by name! I've sampled other Charlottesville accommodations over the years, but my experience at the Darden Inn always makes me want to come back. I highly recommend it to anyone visiting either school; I have even stayed there when doing other business in town.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrettyQuikWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks for your review. As you have found out, our location is convenient to UVa in general, but also to other attractions in Charlottesville. Our staff wants you to feel as if The Inn is your home away from home and will do anything possible to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

I was here for business. I will agree with others, the walk from parking to the Inn was a bit of a hike, but nothing unreasonable unless you have medical conditions. Overall, it was a beautiful place to stay... I would recommend it for anyone staying in the area. I would certainly stay again if I were to return to the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 176jlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks for your review. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we are centrally located and area attractions are just a short drive away. Hope to see you again on your next trip to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We've stayed at the Inn twice in the past year and have found the accommodations to be comfortable and the staff to be extremely hospitable. Because our son attends Darden, this location has been particularly convenient for us, but don't let that dissuade you from using the Inn as your base for visiting C'ville. The price is competitive, and the accommodations are more than adequate. The rooms at the Inn are not huge, but there is a mini-fridge and wireless available. The location is convenient to the pedestrian downtown mall, as long as you realize up front that you will need to drive. As others have noted, the Inn has long halls and a somewhat different layout than you may be used to. But it all works well. We will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: Depending on your needs and if you will use the gym facilities or plan to partake in the continental...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khd8286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks for your review. We hope you will continue to visit us even after your son graduates! Our staff and location certainly set us apart, so thanks for recognizing that. Our rooms also come equipped with a microwave and two complimentary bottles of water in your fridge each day. See you on your next trip to Charlottesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

I love the Inn at Darden. It is the perfect location for everything I typically do in Charlottesville. The staff...and I mean ALL of the staff..are so warm, friendly and helpful! The rooms are tastefully furnished and up-to-date; and the amenities are on par with a standard hotel.

I notice that many share the same frustration with the paths one must take to get around the Inn. I believe that is due to the fact that originally, this was a smaller lodging venue primarily used by Darden students attending the Exec. Ed. Program and returning grads for reunions, board meetings and the like. When the new glorious Darden School was built several years ago, the former Sponsors Hall was added onto. It does create some confusion for those new to the Inn, but I always find it a welcome challenge to see where I might wind up going from one wing to another. (Call me crazy)

All in all, I am a fan of the Inn and expect to return here for my annual C'ville sojourn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building with a view of the woods. It will be nice and quiet, with a love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. You are correct in that the Inn was first opened to house Darden students. Today, we are open to any traveler. I couldn't agree more with your comments about our staff! They are wonderful. For those first time visitors, our Front Desk staff is always happy to help you find your way to your room, parking, as well as the rest of Grounds. Looking forward to hosting you on your next trip to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

I didn't realize it was on UVAs campus when I booked it. Do not stay here if you can't walk a great distance. The parking is a good walk from the rooms. We had to walk through the entire place to get to our rooms all while carrying our luggage. I hope there isn't going to be problem. I thought we paid through orbitz.....but they ran my card again. The rooms are small but comfortable.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank joni c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0hnCoppi, Director of Lodging at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks for your review. Our location, while on Grounds, is also convenient to many area attractions and restaurants. I trust that your charges were correct; if not, please contact our Front Desk and we'll take care of it immediately. As for parking, we attempt to have our guests park as close to their rooms as possible, but I apologize if that was not the case here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.1 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
The English Inn of Charlottesvil...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
1.6 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.2 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UVA Inn at Darden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UVA Inn at Darden

Property: UVA Inn at Darden
Address: 100 Darden Blvd, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1760
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — UVA Inn at Darden 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the University of Virginia Inn at Darden in Charlottesville, Virginia offering historic and gracious on-Grounds hotel accommodations. The Inn is an ideal property for individuals, groups and conferences, close to shopping, downtown Charlottesville and many local attractions. Relax and enjoy our dignified traditional hotel offering an excellent location, outstanding service and convenient amenities. Guests at the Inn may choose from 177 charming accommodations featuring a traditional Jeffersonian décor and numerous amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi, microwave and mini-fridge and complimentary lighted guest parking seven days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your UVA Inn at Darden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing