We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
UVA Inn at Darden
Nearby Hotels
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$114
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The English Inn of Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Charlottesville(Charlottesville)
$234
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hampton Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$147
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$176
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$144
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$119
$102
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oakhurst Inn(Charlottesville)
$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
$153
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boar's Head Resort(Charlottesville)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveler rating
177
118
35
19
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
118
35
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness schoolnorth groundslaw schoolwest wingbarracks roadroom was cleanparking garagejohn paul jones arenaconference centerqueen bedbasketball gamecentral locationlocation is excellentfront desk staffvisit charlottesvillehotel roomgreat room
Filter
Updating list...
305 - 310 of 354 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I had never noticed the "specialty accommodations" tab in TripAdvisor before, but I'm sure glad I did when looking for a place to stay in Charlottesville. Not only a great deal, but the property was in excellent condition. Being an architect, I notice details of construction, and everything reflected very fine craftsmanship, compared to even expensive hotels. We only stayed one night in August, but it was convenient to downtown. It turned out to be too late to catch the bus to downtown for dinner, but it was a very pleasant walk, and we found incredible sushi at Zen and Now (dismissed it at first because of the corny name, but due to the hour our choices were limited, and we were so glad we ended up there!). Monticello the next day, and then began our trek down the Blue Ridge Parkway. Great trip!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. We take pride in the appearance and cleanilness of our property and are very happy that we had not only met but exceeded your expectatons. It is wonderful to read that a professional such as yourself notices the "details" of the Inn at Darden. We hope to see you on a future visit to Charlottesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Excellent place to stay while travelling in Charlottesville. The accommodations are clean and , comfortable, and the service is exceptional. We were impressed by the level of hospitality shown us by the inn, as they seemed to anticipate our every need before we asked. In the one instance where we had an additional need (I think it was extra towels), it was addressed immediately.

For access to the University of Virginia it is excellent, and its very near the US 250 bypass, so easy access to other area attractions. We will definitely stay here on future trips to Charlottesville.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UVAFan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

We strive to provide each and every guest with extraordinary service and I am pleased to read that we had met this goal with you during your stay. I will certainly pass your kind words to our staff members.
We are in an excellent location not only for visits to the University of Virginia but to all our area attractions as well as you noted. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to the Charlottesville Area.

Bridget Merker, CMP
Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

As the name says, it is an Inn at Darden, so it is an UVA (and especially Darden) oriented hotel, just across Darden main buildings.
A typical Inn with comfortable rooms, in a very peaceful location - do not expect frills or equipment like the "big chain hotels" but it is a great Inn, very well kept and with very friendly staff that treat you as friend after some days there....after few days there, is almost like that you are staying at your house.
The only downside is that the Inn, being located in Darden, is a bit far from downtown Charlottesville, but parking is avaliable and the UVA Transport System works well. Barracks Mall is just a ten minute walk and UVA Central Grounds is just some bus stations away.
Next time in Charlottesville avoid the "normal business hotels" and feel the UVA spirit at The Inn

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexPira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

We thank you for your review. Our goal to help our guests feel at home while they are staying with us and we met that goal with you! We do provide all the standard Amenities as the other places to stay. We hope to see you on your next visit to Charlottesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Smallish but comfortable rooms, clean and quiet except for the ubiquitous standard-issue hotel room air conditioner. It's a little confusing figuring out how to get around the property and to the parking lot, by about Day 2 you should have it all figured out.
The University Transit Service bus stop is at the top of the hill - about a block away. BUT - word of warning - on football game days bus service is suspended approximately 2 hours before game time. We found this out the hard way - as the hotel staff directed a number of us up to the bus stop and we waited in vain until finally giving up. It's about a 40 minute walk to Scott Stadium, so plan accordingly! Might be a good option for basketball though, it's a much shorter walk to JPJ arena.

Room Tip: Only one elevator, it's pretty quiet so might want to consider a room close to the elevator.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muelleac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. We do apologize for the misinformation you were given regarding the University Transit Service operation hours on game day. We do have many guests who stay with us on UVA home football games as they can walk approximately 2 miles to Scott Stadium and not have to find parking. We look forward to seeing you on future visit to Charlottesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

New to the UVA family, we needed a hotel for parents weekend and found most places booked. We were happy to stumble on this hotel and even happier with its clean rooms and friendly staff. If you have your heart set on big chain hotel contemporary furnishings and frills, look elsewhere. But for a comfortable, quiet stay close the UVA grounds for a reasonable price, keep this hotel in mind!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank bosun2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUP1224-11, Director of Sales at UVA Inn at Darden, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for your review. We do pride ourselves as having a very friendly staff and very clean, comfortable rooms. We will certainly pass along your wonderful comments to our staff. We are open to the public, not just for UVA related events. Please come back and see us the next time you are in Charlottesville. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews